Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Event Hacking question

Threads: 23
Thanks Received: 0
Thanks Given: 6
Status
None
I'm wondering how hard/complicated would it be to remove the Opera scene and replace it with an event that gets you setzer and the airship in another way.

Also how hard or is it possible to have you get two characters at the same time when you get the airship. In other words Setzer and one other. Is that event stuff still or is that ASM stuff.

I am VERY new to event and asm stuff, and trying to guage if my ideas are too big for my britches.

Thanks in advance to all the pros with this knowledge!
  Find

Threads: 83
Thanks Received: 55
Thanks Given: 7
Status
Obliviscence
That can all be done with event hacking. If you have EventScript.txt, look up CA/AE15, it's where Locke explains his plan to swap Celes and Maria, this series of events leads directly into the Opera Scene. The actual scene with the opera itself begins at CA/B0DE, right after Ultros' letter goes unnoticed.

Happy Hacking.
  Find

Threads: 11
Thanks Received: 22
Thanks Given: 13
Status
Double
It wouldn't be overly complicated to remove the opera scene; the difficulty of replacing it mostly depends on what you are replacing it with. To replace it with an equally elaborate scene to the Opera House may be pretty difficult, but replacing it with a scene where you simply board the airship and start talking with Setzer wouldn't be hard at all.

As for getting two characters at once, it would still fall under event hacking, provided you aren't flat out creating a 15th character. If you just want get Setzer and Mog at the same time, for example, you'd just have to set the variables which tell each them to appear on the airship and in the shop screen, possibly assign their names/properties/palettes/etc, and place them in your current party if need be.

Confused Moogles FTW

Status
None