Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Relm's Sketch edit

#1
Posts: 59
Threads: 29
Thanks Received: 2
Thanks Given: 29
Joined: Jan 2020
Reputation: 0
Status
None
Anyone know how to edit the sketch cmd to use the target's LV instead of Relm, or use Relm stats (Magic, Vigor & etc) instead of the enemies?
  Find
Quote  

#2
Posts: 16
Threads: 4
Thanks Received: 6
Thanks Given: 1
Joined: Oct 2019
Reputation: 0
Status
None
What convenient timing!  I could use this as well, is it possible to use the targets Vigor (since it's around 60 and unlikely that the player will build Relm's Vigor higher) but Relm's Magic Pwr. ?  Though, I think the base battle pwr. for enemy sketch/control commands is low so even with good Vigor it won't be dealing much damage...
At least the spells could become decent.
  Find
Quote  

#3
Posts: 16
Threads: 4
Thanks Received: 6
Thanks Given: 1
Joined: Oct 2019
Reputation: 0
Status
None
Just letting you know, Seibaby posted some .asm code that can be turned into a patch for this issue.  It's a thread titled "How to make Sketch not suck".
  Find
Quote  

#4
Posts: 45
Threads: 0
Thanks Received: 14
Thanks Given: 247
Joined: Feb 2015
Reputation: 0
Status
None
Yep, Seibaby did indeed list the ASM coding for that. The only issue is newbies don't know how to apply ASM coding.

Here's Seibaby's thread to make Sketch not suck. https://www.ff6hacking.com/forums/thread-3478.html

And here's a youtube link for how to apply ASM coding to patch ROM's with it. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eu8Jr1-QRY8
  Find
Quote  
[-] The following 1 user says Thank You to Robo Jesus for this post:
  • doofenH (01-16-2020)

#5
Posts: 59
Threads: 29
Thanks Received: 2
Thanks Given: 29
Joined: Jan 2020
Reputation: 0
Status
None
(01-14-2020, 07:05 AM)Robo Jesus Wrote: The only issue is newbies don't know how to apply ASM coding.

And here's a youtube link for how to apply ASM coding to patch ROM's with it. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eu8Jr1-QRY8

I watch the youtube, but some corruption happened to the rom. 

I 1st copy & paste the patch code onto a notepad, and then turn the "txt" into "asm". 

I did the youtube 1st method, and the game work. However, once I enter a fight, the screen turn black and nothing move. What went wrong?
  Find
Quote  

#6
Posts: 2,283
Threads: 90
Thanks Received: 298
Thanks Given: 290
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 42
Status
Nattak\'d
(01-16-2020, 02:49 AM)doofenH Wrote: What went wrong?

Anyone's guess really. I'm going to guess that the ROM you're patching the ASM to probably has a header, in which case you'd want to remove the ; character from the ASM file at the top where it says ;header. The ; before the header is saying that it is not headered, which would cause it to patch 200 bytes off causing...bad things. Or, alternatively you can remove the header with a hex editor or SNEStuff and try the ASM patch again. If you're not sure what a header is, to quote the wiki:

A header is 0x200 bytes of padding at the beginning of the ROM. There's not really a functional difference between a headered and an unheadered ROM, but you have to take into account the extra bytes when you are hacking. We suggest you use none and apply one only when you are applying a patch requiring one or use an editor requiring one. It will simplify your life. You can add / remove headers with an utility like SNEStuff.

If this is not the issue of your crash, I am not sure. Shrug


We are born, live, die and then do the same thing over again.
Quote  

#7
Posts: 59
Threads: 29
Thanks Received: 2
Thanks Given: 29
Joined: Jan 2020
Reputation: 0
Status
None
Found the problem. It is because I used version 1.1, instead of 1.0. No idea why that make the different as I'd been playing & hacking with 1.1 from the start.

Any patch for 1.1?

Or a guide on how to do it myself?
  Find
Quote  

#8
Posts: 262
Threads: 18
Thanks Received: 125
Thanks Given: 47
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 8
Status
None
Version 1.1 has some added code, which shifts nearly ALL code to different addresses. You need to use 1.0 for most patches (some patches have 1.1 version, most don't).

Do yourself a favor and switch to using 1.0. Nearly everything hacking-related is done on 1.0. You'll save time in the end.

By the way, if you want to use my patch, but want Sketch to use the TARGET's Level, Magic, or Vigor, all you need to do is look for these three lines in the code:

Code:
LDA $3B18,X     ;Level
[...]
LDA $3B41,X     ;Sketcher's Mag.Pwr
[...]
LDA $3B2C,X     ;Sketcher's Vigor * 2

Change the X to Y and it'll load the target's stats instead.
  Find
Quote  
[-] The following 2 users say Thank You to seibaby for this post:
  • doofenH (01-18-2020), Robo Jesus (01-19-2020)



Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)


Theme by Madsiur2017Custom Graphics by JamesWhite