FF6 Hacking
Relm's Sketch edit - Printable Version

+- FF6 Hacking (https://www.ff6hacking.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Discussion Forums (https://www.ff6hacking.com/forums/forum-5.html)
+--- Forum: Magitek Research Facility (https://www.ff6hacking.com/forums/forum-9.html)
+--- Thread: Relm's Sketch edit (/thread-3925.html)



Relm's Sketch edit - doofenH - 01-03-2020

Anyone know how to edit the sketch cmd to use the target's LV instead of Relm, or use Relm stats (Magic, Vigor & etc) instead of the enemies?


RE: Relm's Sketch edit - Kenefactor - 01-05-2020

What convenient timing!  I could use this as well, is it possible to use the targets Vigor (since it's around 60 and unlikely that the player will build Relm's Vigor higher) but Relm's Magic Pwr. ?  Though, I think the base battle pwr. for enemy sketch/control commands is low so even with good Vigor it won't be dealing much damage...
At least the spells could become decent.


RE: Relm's Sketch edit - Kenefactor - 01-13-2020

Just letting you know, Seibaby posted some .asm code that can be turned into a patch for this issue.  It's a thread titled "How to make Sketch not suck".


RE: Relm's Sketch edit - Robo Jesus - 01-14-2020

Yep, Seibaby did indeed list the ASM coding for that. The only issue is newbies don't know how to apply ASM coding.

Here's Seibaby's thread to make Sketch not suck. https://www.ff6hacking.com/forums/thread-3478.html

And here's a youtube link for how to apply ASM coding to patch ROM's with it. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eu8Jr1-QRY8


RE: Relm's Sketch edit - doofenH - 01-16-2020

(01-14-2020, 07:05 AM)Robo Jesus Wrote: The only issue is newbies don't know how to apply ASM coding.

And here's a youtube link for how to apply ASM coding to patch ROM's with it. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eu8Jr1-QRY8

I watch the youtube, but some corruption happened to the rom. 

I 1st copy & paste the patch code onto a notepad, and then turn the "txt" into "asm". 

I did the youtube 1st method, and the game work. However, once I enter a fight, the screen turn black and nothing move. What went wrong?


RE: Relm's Sketch edit - Gi Nattak - 01-16-2020

(01-16-2020, 02:49 AM)doofenH Wrote: What went wrong?

Anyone's guess really. I'm going to guess that the ROM you're patching the ASM to probably has a header, in which case you'd want to remove the ; character from the ASM file at the top where it says ;header. The ; before the header is saying that it is not headered, which would cause it to patch 200 bytes off causing...bad things. Or, alternatively you can remove the header with a hex editor or SNEStuff and try the ASM patch again. If you're not sure what a header is, to quote the wiki:

A header is 0x200 bytes of padding at the beginning of the ROM. There's not really a functional difference between a headered and an unheadered ROM, but you have to take into account the extra bytes when you are hacking. We suggest you use none and apply one only when you are applying a patch requiring one or use an editor requiring one. It will simplify your life. You can add / remove headers with an utility like SNEStuff.

If this is not the issue of your crash, I am not sure. Shrug


RE: Relm's Sketch edit - doofenH - 01-18-2020

Found the problem. It is because I used version 1.1, instead of 1.0. No idea why that make the different as I'd been playing & hacking with 1.1 from the start.

Any patch for 1.1?

Or a guide on how to do it myself?


RE: Relm's Sketch edit - seibaby - 01-18-2020

Version 1.1 has some added code, which shifts nearly ALL code to different addresses. You need to use 1.0 for most patches (some patches have 1.1 version, most don't).

Do yourself a favor and switch to using 1.0. Nearly everything hacking-related is done on 1.0. You'll save time in the end.

By the way, if you want to use my patch, but want Sketch to use the TARGET's Level, Magic, or Vigor, all you need to do is look for these three lines in the code:

Code:
LDA $3B18,X     ;Level
[...]
LDA $3B41,X     ;Sketcher's Mag.Pwr
[...]
LDA $3B2C,X     ;Sketcher's Vigor * 2

Change the X to Y and it'll load the target's stats instead.