Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
how to change the skill "possess"

#1
Posts: 398
Threads: 49
Thanks Received: 15
Thanks Given: 11
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 12
Status
Mental-Break
Is the skill "possess" by the ghosts' shared with a monster spell? For example: Leo's "Shock" and the monster spell Megahit. All I want to do is edit the skill possess and give it to another character. Btw I'm using FFSusME67 and FF6MDE.. let me know if a different editor is needed.
  Find
Quote  

#2
Posts: 2,549
Threads: 98
Thanks Received: 147
Thanks Given: 159
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 52
Status
Nattak\'d
No, Possess is one of the skills that its effects cannot be changed easily. The only thing you can do with it in USME is change around the attributes in the Battle Editor, and of course assign it to other characters in the Actor Editor, but to edit the actual skill itself, you would need to do some ASM hacking.

This is from the Co-opted Bank C2 Disassembly on assassin's page: http://www14.brinkster.com/assassin17/guides.htm

Possess

C2/17E5: BB TYX
C2/17E6: 20 C1 19 JSR $19C1
C2/17E9: A9 20 LDA #$20
C2/17EB: 0C A4 11 TSB $11A4 (Set can't be dodged)
C2/17EE: A9 A0 LDA #$A0
C2/17F0: 8D A9 11 STA $11A9 (Stores Possess in special effect)
C2/17F3: 4C 7B 31 JMP $317B

That is how it is currently, I myself cannot edit and/or create new skills from others like this yet, so I'm afraid I cannot help you any further. ;( All I know, is that this skill is very basic, so a lot of advanced hacking would be needed to make it into something else all together.


We are born, live, die and then do the same thing over again.
Quote  

#3
Posts: 398
Threads: 49
Thanks Received: 15
Thanks Given: 11
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 12
Status
Mental-Break
oh wow.. seems damn complex lol.. I'm just trying to switch skills around to make the gameplay more enjoyable as a third play through.. thanks a lot gi nattak for the fast ass reply! I will most likely not touch this skill anymore haha..
  Find
Quote  

#4
Posts: 3,970
Threads: 279
Thanks Received: 236
Thanks Given: 58
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 65
Status
Tissue-aware
One thing about the ability "possess" is that the character using is removed from the party after using it. You would need to create a point in a certain map where the character could be recruited again. That would be a real puzzle depending who has "possess" and at which point in the game it is used. But by ASM hacking you could probably change this ability in a way that the character using it would simply be removed from the current battle.


Not to mention that "possess" would totally break the game lol:



  Find
Quote  

#5
Posts: 2,769
Threads: 88
Thanks Received: 24
Thanks Given: 87
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 25
Status
None
LOL


"Sometimes ninjas do wrong to each other, and in dat way the force of tha earf' comes around da moon - and at that presence, da dirt, it overshadows the grass, so you're like, I can't cut dis grass, there's no sun comin' through. So in order to enable each other the two fruits have to look each other in da eye and understand we can only be right, as da ripe is wrong, you know what I mean?"

-HNIC
Quote  

#6
Posts: 398
Threads: 49
Thanks Received: 15
Thanks Given: 11
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 12
Status
Mental-Break
you know i think metroid quest changed possess into storm if i'm not mistaken.. haven't tested it though

maybe he changed it to a fight command.. and used a relic to be casting it?
  Find
Quote  

#7
Posts: 3,970
Threads: 279
Thanks Received: 236
Thanks Given: 58
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 65
Status
Tissue-aware
(03-01-2012, 03:01 AM)badass Wrote: you know i think metroid quest changed possess into storm if i'm not mistaken.. haven't tested it though

maybe he changed it to a fight command.. and used a relic to be casting it?

I don't remember exactly what he changed possess in...I think it was Cecil's special ability once he become a paladin if I'm not mistaken..He probably tweaked the command to make it behave to something closer to shock or something similar. Then he added a custom animation...I played "The eternal crystals" too long ago to remember exactly.

You could always check his ROM in Bank C2 where possess is suppose to be and check the assembly changes he made with the help of the C2 dissasembly...This or run an IPS report to see exactly the bytes changed in C2 but that won't tell you what the changes are, it will only tell you where he did the changes.



  Find
Quote  

#8
Posts: 471
Threads: 39
Thanks Received: 6
Thanks Given: 6
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 3
Status
Runic
I would not touch the ability possess with a ten foot pole...
  Find
Quote  

#9
Posts: 398
Threads: 49
Thanks Received: 15
Thanks Given: 11
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 12
Status
Mental-Break
hmm.. yea too much to look into.. especially cuz i retested his game and even the spell "pray" was broken. (bannons health)
  Find
Quote  

#10
Posts: 3,970
Threads: 279
Thanks Received: 236
Thanks Given: 58
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 65
Status
Tissue-aware
(03-02-2012, 11:16 PM)CrumpledMedal Wrote: I would not touch the ability possess with a ten foot pole...

Objection! Why not? This is where the fun start usually...

(03-02-2012, 11:18 PM)badass Wrote: hmm.. yea too much to look into.. especially cuz i retested his game and even the spell "pray" was broken. (bannons health)

Well it's not that difficult to change I think, more simple than what you think if I'm right. First here is where the ability possess is executed:

Code:
C2/17E5: BB           TYX
C2/17E6: 20 C1 19     JSR $19C1   (targetting ?)
C2/17E9: A9 20        LDA #$20
C2/17EB: 0C A4 11     TSB $11A4   (Set can't be dodged)
C2/17EE: A9 A0        LDA #$A0
C2/17F0: 8D A9 11     STA $11A9   (Stores Possess in special effect)
C2/17F3: 4C 7B 31     JMP $317B   (Character execute one hit)

You could change that code to something similar to one of the following and it should do the job I think. Note that you could make possess behave like storm and put any spell number there if I'm right. Shock and Health are tied together but it is something that could be avoided with 3 extra ASM commands if you want.

Code:
Storm

C2/170D: 9C 15 34     STZ $3415   (will force to randomly retarget)
C2/1710: A9 54        LDA #$54    (Storm)
C2/1712: 85 B6        STA $B6     (Set spell/animation)
C2/1714: A9 02        LDA #$02    (Magic)
C2/1716: 85 B5        STA $B5     (Set command)
C2/1718: 80 45        BRA $175F


Shock

C2/171A: A9 82        LDA #$82      (shock)
C2/171C: 80 02        BRA $1720     (jumps to health command to set spell/animation)


Health

C2/171E: A9 2E        LDA #$2E      (health)
C2/1720: 85 B6        STA $B6       (Set spell/animation)    
C2/1722: A9 05        LDA #$05
C2/1724: 80 3F        BRA $1765
  Find
Quote  



Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)


Theme by Madsiur2017Custom Graphics by JamesWhite