Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Patch: Battle Dialog Page Break

#1
Posts: 101
Threads: 15
Thanks Received: 122
Thanks Given: 56
Joined: Feb 2016
Reputation: 6
Status
Enlight
author: SilentEnigma
Download


This patch adds a new page break function ($03) for the big battle dialog captions.
When the function is invoked, the displayed text clears, and the remaining text continues from the top of the dialog window.

Script hackers may find this useful if they want to use the quoted text format of the PS1-era FFs -- It helps to avoid the appearance of unmatched quotation marks for captions longer than three lines. (I also recommend pairing with the Auto-Indent patch for field dialog captions.)

The hack comes in two variants:
  • Variant A: Keeps the original left/right margin widths
  • Variant B: Reduces left/right margins for more usable text area
If using FF3usME, add a hex entry <$03> after a pause <P> to get the full effect.

Full disclosure: This uses an unfortunate 20 bytes of the rather precious free space in the $C1 bank. So a bit of surgery may be required to get it working with some hacks.

Cheers!

.zip  BattleDialogPageBreak_v1.1.zip (3.13 KB, 3 downloads)
Quote  
[-] The following 3 users say Thank You to SilentEnigma for this post:
  • Gi Nattak (12-26-2020), madsiur (12-26-2020), Warrax (12-29-2020)

#2
Posts: 101
Threads: 15
Thanks Received: 122
Thanks Given: 56
Joined: Feb 2016
Reputation: 6
Status
Enlight
The patch has been updated to v1.1.
The new version resolves a patching conflict with -- surprise, surprise! -- Assassin's Alphabetical Rage.
Quote  

#3
Posts: 11
Threads: 1
Thanks Received: 1
Thanks Given: 3
Joined: Nov 2019
Reputation: 0
Status
None
This may only be specific to the base romhack I'm using, but have you experienced a bug where sometimes changing a line of battle dialog to be longer causes a garbage white tile to appear off to the very left of the frame during a line break animation? And also would this patch fix that?
  Find
Quote  

#4
Posts: 2,379
Threads: 93
Thanks Received: 358
Thanks Given: 326
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 44
Status
Nattak\'d
Just to give some sort of a visual aid or way to test this to show what kamesennin is talking about:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T2XmOYmn3h8

You'll notice upon reaching the end of the 4th line, the garbage white tiles suddenly appear just outside the left of the dialog box, which is actually part of the 'a' character that was used for this testing, meaning if I used another character such as 'b' it would appear different - it's the last character used in the line in other words.

If you remove background layer 2, it is actually all across the screen as well:
https://imgur.com/kStUonh

If there was just one less 'a' character in that 4th/8th/12th line, this bug does not happen and all would appear fine:
https://imgur.com/Nbk7J0O

Note that for lines 1-3 all the 'a' characters could be removed and the bug would still happen upon reaching the 4th line, so it seems to be related to that new box line and none of the others:
https://imgur.com/2jhF3tM

It seems to happen only upon reaching the 4th/8th/12th etc. line, which in ff3usme shows it as making a new dialog box:
https://imgur.com/ZOznqOj

It seems sort of random to actually get it to happen, meaning it's not a certain amount of characters or a specific character...

I'm not sure if it's some vram overflow issue, but that'd be my guess. I also didn't test if this patch would fix this, but I'd imagine not.
And sorry if my attempted method of showing this issue makes no sense at all. I remember this issue happening for me looooong ago when I was first working on my hack, and I would just shorten the line 4/8/12 etc. until it would no longer bug out.


We are born, live, die and then do the same thing over again.
Quote  
[-] The following 1 user says Thank You to Gi Nattak for this post:
  • SilentEnigma (09-29-2021)

#5
Posts: 101
Threads: 15
Thanks Received: 122
Thanks Given: 56
Joined: Feb 2016
Reputation: 6
Status
Enlight
Hi @kamesennin,
I have seen something like this before. For me, it occurred at the end of the Kefka "life... dreams... hope..." monologue.

I don't think this patch will make any difference here.

According to my notes, the EE, EF, FE, and FF monospace tiles need to be left blank because of this.
That is, do not modify the following:
C4/8EA0 - C4/8EBF
C4/8FA0 - C4/8FBF

All the bytes in those ranges should be #$00.

That's about all I know. Does the shoe fit?
Quote  



Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)


Theme by Madsiur2017Custom Graphics by JamesWhite