Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Custom event freezing

#1
Posts: 23
Threads: 6
Thanks Received: 2
Thanks Given: 1
Joined: Feb 2020
Reputation: 3
Status
None
Hello guys,

I've tried making my own custom event for when the party visits the town of Maranda for the first time (before the Vector/Magitek research facility chapter, when you need to have both Locke and Celes in your party). It is supposed to work as follows: on an event tile near the stairs, the party splits up, some dialogue happens, some characters strike certain poses, then the party regroups again. Should be simple enough, but for some reason I get a freeze after the party splits, before the first dialogue box is supposed to appear, and I can't quite figure out why. Here's my event code:

C0 02 80 B3 5E 00 47 B2 AC C6 00 B2 34 2E 01 3C 01 06 FF FF 31 04 C2 80 CD FF 32 04 C2 A0 CF FF 33 03 C2 81 CC FF 34 02 CC FF 92 4B 8E 05 91 06 82 22 FF 91 4B 24 04 C0 A2 01 B6 E1 35 02 82 18 FF 94 4B D4 04 91 06 85 CE E0 02 63 FF 4B 29 05 95 4B 84 05 01 85 83 E0 02 81 FF 06 82 CF FF 4B FC 05 06 02 83 FF 33 02 A3 FF 34 82 80 FF 42 32 42 33 42 34 45 47 3A 78 31 78 32 78 33 78 34 D0 02 FE

And here the breakdown of what it's supposed to do:

C0 02 80 = check if event bit 002 is set, if yes:
B3 5E 00 = branch to return function
47 = make character in slot 0 the leader
B2 AC C6 00 = subroutine that loads caseword with characters in active party (checks who is currently there)
B2 34 2E 01 = subroutine that enables party members to pass through other objects
3C 01 06 FF FF = sets up a party with characters 01 (Locke), 06 (Celes), two irrelevant (FFs)
31 04 C2 80 CD FF = action queue for character 1, 4 bytes long, move 1 up & turn right
32 04 C2 A0 CF FF= action queue for character 2, 4 bytes long, move 1 right-up & turn left
33 03 C2 81 CC FF= action queue for character 3, 4 bytes long, move 1 right & turn up
34 02 CC FF= action queue for character 4, 2 bytes long, turn up
FREEZE HERE??
92 = pause for 30 units
4B 8E 05 = text box
91 = pause for 15 units
06 82 22 FF =action queue for Celes, 2 bytes long, head down sad left
91 = pause for 15 units
4B 24 04 = text box
C0 A2 01 B6 E1 35 = check if Cyan is in party, if not branch to 3FE1B6 (9 bytes further down)
02 82 18 FF = action queue for Cyan, 2 bytes long, armfolded pose
94 = pause for 60 units
4B D4 04 = text box
91 = pause for 15 units
06 85 CE E0 02 63 FF = action queue for Celes, 4 bytes long, look down, delay, turn head to right
4B 29 05 = text box
95 = pause for 120 units
4B 84 05 = text box
01 85 83 E0 02 81 FF = action queue for Locke, 4 bytes long, move 1 left, delay, move 1 right
06 82 CF FF = action queue for Celes, 2 bytes long, turn left
4B FC 05 = text box
06 02 83 FF = action queue for Celes, 2 bytes long, move 1 left
33 02 A3 FF = action queue for character 3, 2 bytes long, move left-up
34 82 80 FF = action queue for character 4, 2 bytes long, move up
42 32 = hide character 2 sprite
42 33 = hide character 3 sprite
42 34 = hide character 4 sprite
45 = refresh objects
47 = make character in slot 0 the leader
3A = enable movement while event is executing
78 31 = enable passing through sprite 1
78 32 = enable passing through sprite 2
78 33 = enable passing through sprite 3
78 34 = enable passing through sprite 4
D0 02 = set event bit 002
FE = return

The bold part is where the game freezes. Maybe someone of you can see where I made a mistake. Any help is appreciated.

EDIT: Oh yeah, another thing: the fourth character is facing in the wrong direction after the party splits (down instead of up). It's just a small issue, but could this be related to the main problem?
  Find
Quote  

#2
Posts: 2,283
Threads: 90
Thanks Received: 301
Thanks Given: 290
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 42
Status
Nattak\'d
I'm not seeing a bold part in the code. this part here though:
33 03 C2 81 CC FF= action queue for character 3, 4 bytes long, move 1 right & turn up
should be a 04 byte command. I'm not sure if this is a typo or what but if it isn't, I'd imagine that would F things up!
I'm great with event editing but I suck at diagnosing a freeze with simply staring at code - feel free to send me the ROM via PM and I'd be happy to take a look.
What I do to know for sure where the code is freezing, is put an FE to end the event at various spots until you know for sure which command is the culprit, then go from there.


We are born, live, die and then do the same thing over again.
Quote  
[-] The following 1 user says Thank You to Gi Nattak for this post:
  • Gestahl (06-21-2020)

#3
Posts: 23
Threads: 6
Thanks Received: 2
Thanks Given: 1
Joined: Feb 2020
Reputation: 3
Status
None
(06-21-2020, 01:01 PM)Gi Nattak Wrote: I'm not seeing a bold part in the code. this part here though:
33 03 C2 81 CC FF= action queue for character 3, 4 bytes long, move 1 right & turn up
should be a 04 byte command. I'm not sure if this is a typo or what but if it isn't, I'd imagine that would F things up!
I'm great with event editing but I suck at diagnosing a freeze with simply staring at code - feel free to send me the ROM via PM and I'd be happy to take a look.
What I do to know for sure where the code is freezing, is put an FE to end the event at various spots until you know for sure which command is the culprit, then go from there.

Wow, I can't believe I screwed up an action queue like that... I just tested it, and that was really it! After changing it to 4, everything worked as intended!

Thanks a ton, man! And now I feel stupid, lol...
  Find
Quote  

#4
Posts: 2,283
Threads: 90
Thanks Received: 301
Thanks Given: 290
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 42
Status
Nattak\'d
Glad that was all it was, all good man, I've certainly done my share of simple blunders causing entire events to crash and spend lots of time trying to figure it out, only to realize it was a byte short on an action queue. Event coding is fun stuff! Smile


We are born, live, die and then do the same thing over again.
Quote  

#5
Posts: 23
Threads: 6
Thanks Received: 2
Thanks Given: 1
Joined: Feb 2020
Reputation: 3
Status
None
Quote:Glad that was all it was, all good man, I've certainly done my share of simple blunders causing entire events to crash and spend lots of time trying to figure it out, only to realize it was a byte short on an action queue. Event coding is fun stuff!

It sure is, yeah! After some more testing, it seems I've created an additional problem: after the event, I cannot leave the map anymore, or talk to NPCs, or access the menu. Before the event that was still possible.

I've changed the last portion of my code from this:

Code:
42 32 = hide character 2 sprite
42 33 = hide character 3 sprite
42 34 = hide character 4 sprite
45 = refresh objects
47 = make character in slot 0 the leader
3A = enable movement while event is executing
78 31 = enable passing through sprite 1
78 32 = enable passing through sprite 2
78 33 = enable passing through sprite 3
78 34 = enable passing through sprite 4
D0 02 = set event bit 002
FE = return

to this:

Code:
B2 2B 2E 01 = subroutine for hiding characters 2, 3, and 4
B2 95 CB 00 = subroutine for disabling passing through objects for all 4 party members

as it seems to do the same, but is several bytes shorter. At first I thought it might be because my original code used enable passing through objects instead of disabling it, but that didn't solve the problem. It's as if the map's exits, NPCs and menu stopped working after the event execution.

Have you ever encountered something like this?
  Find
Quote  

#6
Posts: 2,283
Threads: 90
Thanks Received: 301
Thanks Given: 290
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 42
Status
Nattak\'d
I've definitely encountered that same issue, but I can't say for certain what is causing it here or even how I went about fixing it (terrible memory). It's like the game thinks it is still in active event mode even though it has ended. I probably just FD out commands until it hopefully unbreaks, and then figure out why it is causing it to break. Or FE to end it early and see when exactly the map freeze is happening. I'm sure you'll figure it out but if not my offer always stands to go hands on with it.


We are born, live, die and then do the same thing over again.
Quote  

#7
Posts: 23
Threads: 6
Thanks Received: 2
Thanks Given: 1
Joined: Feb 2020
Reputation: 3
Status
None
I figured it out! It turned out that my problem was not the code I posted here, but rather a wrong byte after the jump to this code! Since the event banks in the vanilla game are pretty full, the only way to create more room for new/longer events is to use B2 jumps to some empty space of an expanded rom, and that's what I did. But I completely forgot that in this case, the FE command doesn't automatically end the entire event, but rather returns to the previous location in the rom right after the B2 jump. And the byte following that turned out to be an FF instead of an FE. After fixing this, everything worked smoothly. Turns out it was a simple 1-byte fix again.

Just thought I'd post this here in case someone else encounters the same issue again. Anyway thanks for your help Gi Nattak!
  Find
Quote  

#8
Posts: 14
Threads: 6
Thanks Received: 4
Thanks Given: 14
Joined: May 2019
Reputation: 2
Status
None
I read somewhere that coding is a bit like writing a novel except that if you forget a comma on page 127, the entire book doesn’t make sense. I agree with that.
  Find
Quote  

#9
Posts: 23
Threads: 6
Thanks Received: 2
Thanks Given: 1
Joined: Feb 2020
Reputation: 3
Status
None
(07-01-2020, 01:46 AM)Morendo Wrote: I read somewhere that coding is a bit like writing a novel except that if you forget a comma on page 127, the entire book doesn’t make sense. I agree with that.

Lol, completely agree with that! I'll keep improving my "grammar" then, haha.
  Find
Quote  

#10
Posts: 3,785
Threads: 270
Thanks Received: 754
Thanks Given: 379
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 63
Status
Tissue-aware
(07-01-2020, 01:46 AM)Morendo Wrote: I read somewhere that coding is a bit like writing a novel except that if you forget a comma on page 127, the entire book doesn’t make sense.

Except when you code the IDE tells you when there's a mistake such as a missing comma.. That makes me think that an event editor would be really nice, especially if it tells you if you have an invalid event command (e.g. missing parameters) or if you character queue command is invalid (e.g. like the above mistake).
  Find
Quote  



Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)


Theme by Madsiur2017Custom Graphics by JamesWhite