Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Tutorial: Editing Compressed Graphics

#1
Posts: 3,553
Threads: 261
Thanks Received: 634
Thanks Given: 251
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 58
Status
Faith
Tutorial: Editing Compressed Graphics





Written tutorial


Peer Sprite Viewer & SNESpal: http://tinyurl.com/doku-ff6-snespal
YY_CHR (C++ version): http://tinyurl.com/doku-ff6-yychr
ROM map: http://tinyurl.com/doku-ff6-rommap
Gimp: https://www.gimp.org/
YY-CHR & SNESpal Tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L0H2Xeh9Klc


In this tutorial I'm covering how to edit compressed graphics with the help of Peer Sprite Viewer and YY-CHR. The process is similar to the one explained in the YY-CHR tutorial except you need to decompress the graphic before editing it and compress it after. I edit in this video the shield (block) graphic. There are other compressed graphics in the ROM, some ending graphics, chocobo, airship and others.

Battle status graphics: D2/E000 to D2/EBFF (headerless offset)
Shield Palette: C2/B091 to C2/B09C (headerless offset)

FF5 Shield Patch



[Image: psv2.png]


[Image: psv3.png]


[Image: teaser.png]
  Find
Quote  

#2
Posts: 759
Threads: 83
Thanks Received: 111
Thanks Given: 57
Joined: Apr 2015
Reputation: 22
Status
Gradual-Petrifiy
I need help getting the World of Balance overworld graphics... according to the wiki they ought to be between at EF114F and EF324F, but im getting gibberish when i try to bring them up in peer sprite viewer. I tested to make sure I had the right process by decompressing battle status graphics, which worked fine.
  Find
Quote  

#3
Posts: 3,553
Threads: 261
Thanks Received: 634
Thanks Given: 251
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 58
Status
Faith
Yes, you can view them correctly as GBA graphic format (4BPP) in YY-CHR. The offsets you have are correct. The first two bytes of the compressed data is the length of the data, in this case it matches.
  Find
Quote  

#4
Posts: 3,553
Threads: 261
Thanks Received: 634
Thanks Given: 251
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 58
Status
Faith
I made a written tutorial with this example.

https://www.ff6hacking.com/wiki/doku.php...compressed
  Find
Quote  
[-] The following 2 users say Thank You to madsiur for this post:
  • Robo Jesus (12-27-2017), Tenkarider (09-15-2017)

#5
Posts: 12
Threads: 1
Thanks Received: 0
Thanks Given: 2
Joined: Apr 2018
Reputation: 0
Status
Concentration
Hello.  I'm new to this sprite editing.  So I followed your video with a clean rom and I can't get anything to appear but this. (See Attachment)

I am using windows 10, and I do have a net.framework installed but I can't seem to get past this.  Would you have any idea how I could get this to work for me?  Thank you for your time.


Attached Files
.png  oopsies.PNG (63.93 KB, 6 downloads)
  Find
Quote  

#6
Posts: 3,553
Threads: 261
Thanks Received: 634
Thanks Given: 251
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 58
Status
Faith
(04-20-2018, 11:15 PM)Mutteo Wrote: Hello.  I'm new to this sprite editing.  So I followed your video with a clean rom and I can't get anything to appear but this. (See Attachment)

I don't think PSV can deal with HiROM offsets. This image was what was used for the tutorial. If it's not a HiROM offset / absolute offset problem, you ROM might have an header and PSV is for non-headered ROMs or vice versa.

It's probably more clear here: https://www.ff6hacking.com/wiki/doku.php...compressed
  Find
Quote  

#7
Posts: 12
Threads: 1
Thanks Received: 0
Thanks Given: 2
Joined: Apr 2018
Reputation: 0
Status
Concentration
(04-20-2018, 11:27 PM)madsiur Wrote: I don't think PSV can deal with HiROM offsets. This image was what was used for the tutorial. If it's not a HiROM offset / absolute offset problem, you ROM might have an header and PSV is for non-headered ROMs or vice versa.

It's probably more clear here: https://www.ff6hacking.com/wiki/doku.php...compressed

Oh it's a "1"?  I was following the codes off of this page http://www.ff6hacking.com/wiki/doku.php?...sm:rom_map  So I was using a "D" at the start

So if I were to look for weapons to edit, the "Weapon Animation data" is it?  which says it's ECE400-ECE6E7, I would replace "E" with "1" too?
  Find
Quote  

#8
Posts: 3,553
Threads: 261
Thanks Received: 634
Thanks Given: 251
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 58
Status
Faith
(04-20-2018, 11:38 PM)Mutteo Wrote: So if I were to look for weapons to edit, the "Weapon Animation data" is it?  which says it's ECE400-ECE6E7, I would replace "E" with "1" too?

No, you substract $C0 from the bank, so $ECE400 is $2CE400.
  Find
Quote  
[-] The following 1 user says Thank You to madsiur for this post:
  • Mutteo (04-21-2018)

#9
Posts: 12
Threads: 1
Thanks Received: 0
Thanks Given: 2
Joined: Apr 2018
Reputation: 0
Status
Concentration
(04-20-2018, 11:55 PM)madsiur Wrote: No, you substract $C0 from the bank, so $ECE400 is $2CE400.

Oh, thank you very much for the help, I'll get the hang of it eventually~
  Find
Quote  



Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)


Theme by Madsiur2017Custom Graphics by JamesWhite