Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Event Editing, Help A Noob Plz~

Threads: 9
Thanks Received: 0
Thanks Given: 0
Status
None
So, I'm sitting down to start my first piece of event editing. I've got the recommended things, like Level Editor, Windhex and all that. Currently, I'm just starting out with the intro, you know the bit where we assign the properties of Terra, Wedge, and Biggs. Now, I'm at the spot in the rom on Windhex where this event takes place, and I see the values that match up with the dump of the event values. However, what's boggling my mind is I don't see how to really... change them? For example, I'm wanting to replace Biggs with the character in my Leo slot and want to Wedge to have my Banon's sprite, along with changing their preferred palette's. So, how exactly do I go about making these changes?

[Image: T8NoWgy.png?1]
  Find

Threads: 34
Thanks Received: 10
Thanks Given: 7
Status
Moog
Download a copy of Zone Doctor. We won't be doing any actual editing in Zone Doctor, because it has a bug that changes all pointers to the CA bank, which will irreparably break your game if you save. However, in terms of actually understanding the event code and its commands, it is extremely helpful.

Once you have Zone Doctor, open a 'copy' of your ROM (make absolutely sure it's not the original in case you accidentally click save) and open the event editor. Within is an option to create a text dump of the event code. This dump is annotated slightly differently than the one available on the wiki resources, and more importantly it has ALL of the hex values (instead of the first value for each command).

Open that text dump in Notepad or preferably Notepad++. Do a search for CA5E33, which is where the game starts. At CA5E49, guest Actor E is assigned name $20, WEDGE. There's three hex values that do this, 7F-0E-20. 7F is the Assign Name command, $0E is the actor slot that is having its name assigned, and $20 is the actor name slot that is being affixed.