Users browsing this thread: 12 Guest(s)
Pony Fantasy VI Remake

Posts: 735
Threads: 36
Thanks Received: 13
Thanks Given: 43
Joined: Jan 2016
Reputation: 6
Status
None
Yes, that was it. Assembler worked, got my new rom.

Went to SNEStuff, Created IP patch. Selected my Morph Rom first, selected the vanilla rom second, applied the resulting patch to a test patch. Now when I Morph in battle, it freezes. Double-checked they all have headers and did when I made and applied the patch.

EDIT - not even Morphing, I think when it was Terra's turn, it just crashed.
  Find
Quote  

Posts: 127
Threads: 8
Thanks Received: 21
Thanks Given: 12
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 13
Status
None
(04-12-2016, 04:54 PM)DrakeyC Wrote: ... applied the resulting patch to a test patch.

I hope you meant "... applied the resulting patch to a test ROM." - patches always need to be applied to ROMs
  Find
Quote  

Posts: 735
Threads: 36
Thanks Received: 13
Thanks Given: 43
Joined: Jan 2016
Reputation: 6
Status
None
Yes, that.
  Find
Quote  

Posts: 3,970
Threads: 279
Thanks Received: 236
Thanks Given: 58
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 65
Status
Tissue-aware
if your ROM had a header, did you have the header instruction enabled in your ASM file?
  Find
Quote  

Posts: 735
Threads: 36
Thanks Received: 13
Thanks Given: 43
Joined: Jan 2016
Reputation: 6
Status
None
Presuming that's the "; header" line at the top, yes.
  Find
Quote  

Posts: 127
Threads: 8
Thanks Received: 21
Thanks Given: 12
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 13
Status
None
(04-12-2016, 09:56 PM)DrakeyC Wrote: Presuming that's the "; header" line at the top, yes.

I think that semi-colon ( ; ) is a comment indicator. So this line is skipped.

Try removing the ; symbol at the start of the line?
  Find
Quote  

Posts: 735
Threads: 36
Thanks Received: 13
Thanks Given: 43
Joined: Jan 2016
Reputation: 6
Status
None
Removed the semicolon, remade it all and tried again. Same effect as before.

EDIT - I do find it very interesting though that one of the Morph glitch effects being caused is resetting the battle...
  Find
Quote  

Posts: 127
Threads: 8
Thanks Received: 21
Thanks Given: 12
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 13
Status
None
I looked at the code.

I guess GrayShadow's patch is slightly dependant on HatZen's Resiliant Morph:
Code:
; Commented out for compatibility with Hatzen's Resilient Morph
; org $C25E3F
; ADC $1E3A

; org $C25E46
; STA $1E3A

I assume these lines need to be commented back in, since we are not using Resilient Morph.

Madsiurs suggestion only allows you to remove stuff so we need to do more. I guess this is just 6 bytes so doing it by hand in a hex editor is fine.

In hex:
Code:
C2/5E3F:  6D 3A 1E       ; (ADC $1E3A)

C2/5E46:  8D 3A 1E       ; (STA $1E3A)

EDIT: Perhaps it might be best to have your own copy of GrayShadow's patch where you comment out the compatibility code and assemble the patch yourself.
  Find
Quote  

Posts: 735
Threads: 36
Thanks Received: 13
Thanks Given: 43
Joined: Jan 2016
Reputation: 6
Status
None
Added in the commented-out bits you specified. Same result as before.

At this point, I'm considering just using Resilient Morph. It's not something I'm strongly against having, against the difficulty of all this stuff, it may be simpler. Admittedly I haven't even tried it out so it may be fine.

EDIT - Even with Resilient Morph applied, Terra is still staying Morphed indefinitely. The patch is applied, because it's taking her MP and a full turn to do it.
  Find
Quote  

Posts: 127
Threads: 8
Thanks Received: 21
Thanks Given: 12
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 13
Status
None
(04-13-2016, 01:07 AM)DrakeyC Wrote: EDIT - Even with Resilient Morph applied, Terra is still staying Morphed indefinitely. The patch is applied, because it's taking her MP and a full turn to do it.

Then I would think the Gogo Magic patch is glitched. You have a modified version of the patch right? Can you do a long copy/paste into a codeblock here on the forum?
  Find
Quote  



Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 12 Guest(s)


Theme by Madsiur2017Custom Graphics by JamesWhite