Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
New to hacking. Need advice

Threads: 1
Thanks Received: 0
Thanks Given: 0
Status
None
Hello, i'm new to the world of rom hacking/editing, and would love to edit and make my own game built upon FF6.

I have no programing knowledge, so I don't plan on changing code, but i'd like to use an existing rom editor to get my idea off the ground.

So i'm thinking about using Final Fantasy 3 us Multi Editor, i've played around with it in the past, but i've had trouble figuring out, where to start, ect.

I was wondering if anyone had any guides/walkthroughs on getting started using this program, and how to get stuff going? I've searched google to no avail.

If anyone has any advice on other programs, or starting a project in general, I would appreciate it greatly. Thank you!
  Find

Threads: 279
Thanks Received: 236
Thanks Given: 58
Status
Tissue-aware
Most of the editors can be found here but FF3usME is the most complete one. There is no guide for this editor. The best way to learn is to practice.

As for advice on how to start a project, well it depends what you want to do. If you want to do a complete hack with new events, items, monsters and characters I suggest you keep a log of your changes or excel sheets whatever suit you. Also if you want others to play your hack, I suggest you come up with originality such as new events, new songs or ASM changes. A hack only developed with the editor might be good but will lack originality.

If you have specific questions about the editor(s) or any other thing, don't be afraid to ask.
  Find

Threads: 98
Thanks Received: 147
Thanks Given: 159
Status
Nattak\'d