Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
New to hacking, need advice

Threads: 1
Thanks Received: 0
Thanks Given: 0
Status
None
Hello good people of this forum. I need to learn the very basics of FF6 hacking. Namely a sprite replace and minor text editing.

I plan on proposing to my girlfriend using the Opera Scene and I need help replacing Draco and Maria with mine and her sprites. I have the sprites already made, hell I have been making fun sprite comics for almost 10 years. I have done simple sprite recolours to frankensteining two or three unique sprites into one so i am no stranger to sprite manipulation.

Thank you and have a great day
  Find

Threads: 44
Thanks Received: 22
Thanks Given: 17
Status
Imprisoned
for what you need to do it shouldn't be 2 hard, check the resources page and grab yourself a copy of ffse (sprite editor) you can make yours and her sprites in this, now once you got the basics done you will need ff3usme to find Draco's and maria's sprites, if memory serves they are on different pallets so it shouldn't be too much trouble, select import pallet and new sprite format and import, usme also lets you replace text of a mod, that opera text is in there somewhere. feel free to shoot any of us admins a pm if you get stuck and need further guideance. welcome! and congrats, sounds like a smooth proposal to me

The only limit is imagination. And 16 colors.. I guess 

[-] The following 1 user says Thank You to JWhiteLXXXIX for this post:
  • DaimoMusic (05-23-2017)

Threads: 279
Thanks Received: 236
Thanks Given: 58
Status
Tissue-aware
Basically what James said. You could also do it with FF3usME, it's only a spritesheet swap, export Draco and Maria and copy your news sprite over them if you are unsure. They have fewer sprite poses than full characters iirc. If you need to edit opera lines, FF3usME also has an handy dialogue editor.
  Find
[-] The following 1 user says Thank You to madsiur for this post:

Status
Imprisoned