Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Blue MP Digits patch?

#11
Posts: 226
Threads: 16
Thanks Received: 10
Thanks Given: 35
Joined: Dec 2017
Reputation: 2
Status
None
It's possible the ROM I used was not a US Rom (maybe European or something?)   Anyway, that is redundant because I can't get it working with my own hack anyway (headerless or not).  Am I out of luck, or is there anyone with the knowledge out there to apply the patch to my mod manually or something?  Is that even possible?

Edit:  By the way, I think my hack is based on a v1.1 FF3 ROM, which is why I'm guessing this hack doesn't work...  All the other hacks I have tried work flawlessly, so I wonder what is up with this one that crashes the game?  I didn't think the differences between 1.0 and 1.1 were that large. It seems to me an experienced coder could make this work with 1.1, but who knows.

Edit #2:  Ok, I have now tried patching this on several different ROMs, including one that was labeled USA 1.0, and the game is still really messed up.  Gi Nattak, can you post the version of the patch you have?  Maybe the version you have is an old version or new version not listed on the web site.  I certainly cannot get this hack to work no matter what version of the ROM I use.
  Find
Quote  

#12
Posts: 2,201
Threads: 90
Thanks Received: 244
Thanks Given: 250
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 40
Status
Nattak\'d
It's the same version of the patch, or rather I downloaded it off Imzog's site today when testing. One easy way you can check what version of ROM you have is by simply opening it up with FF3usME and seeing what the ROM info says there in the window. I've seen some ROMS online that said they were 1.0, but were actually 1.1 according to usME. fantasyanime.com is a for sure clean headered 1.0 US ROM, maybe try that one.


We are born, live, die and then do the same thing over again.
Quote  

#13
Posts: 226
Threads: 16
Thanks Received: 10
Thanks Given: 35
Joined: Dec 2017
Reputation: 2
Status
None
Ok, well it appears that the original USA v1.0 ROM headered DOES work with this hack (I don't know why the one I tried didn't work), so it is confirmed that you have to be using a 1.0 ROM. Now the question is: does anyone know how to make this hack compatible with a FF3 1.1 ROM? What exactly is the difference between them that would mess up this hack? I haven't found another hack yet that doesn't work with 1.1 besides this one.
  Find
Quote  

#14
Posts: 3,593
Threads: 263
Thanks Received: 655
Thanks Given: 262
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 60
Status
Faith
(09-11-2018, 08:22 PM)Lightning Wrote: What exactly is the difference between them that would mess up this hack?

Bank $C1 has these differences. Bank $C2 has the sketch bug fixed (I think). I'm pretty sure banks $C0 and $C3 have no difference. That's all I know!

I have no idea what would conflict with this hack though.. You can always make a bin diff with as an example HxD or another tool to spot the differences, however this won't tell you what they are unless you can read code..

Edit: Another thing you could do is making a "1.1 patch" from a 1.0 ROM and then check conflicts between that patch and the blue MP digits patch.



  Find
Quote  

#15
Posts: 159
Threads: 3
Thanks Received: 12
Thanks Given: 91
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 0
Status
None
(09-11-2018, 10:47 PM)madsiur Wrote: these differences

Unfortunately this document looks incomplete. There's about 60kb worth of differences between 1.0 and 1.1 (most of it looks like the same data that was moved by a couple of bytes).

The Blue MP patch mostly work with 1.1, there's some minor differences that can be fixed to work with it. The big exception is the part from C1/9196 to C1/91CA called "Jump table for Battle Dynamics Commands Pointers", that part was moved and the pointers changed so I'm unable to find that part in 1.1. I'm almost sure that's all it need to be found to make it compatible with 1.1

EDIT: Did some researches, the part moved by 3 bytes (C1/9193) and pointers by 300 bytes.

EDIT2: I'm happy to announce that I got it working with FF3 1.1. I've uploaded a patch to those interested.

Data I had to change (in hex) to make it work:
C12B98: 990303990703 -> EAEA228ADEC0
C12D28: 990303990703 -> EAEA2284DEC0
C1919D: DF935DB78D96DF93 -> B0A45DB78D960696
C1A5A6: 09019D1A64 -> EA225EDEC0
C1A6E3: 09019D3F7B -> EA2271DEC0
C263A9: 090B00 -> 20DDA7
C263BC: 9B62 -> F1A7
C2C6A1: FD43F13FE003E002 -> 6314417FE003007F


Attached Files
.zip  CCMPD.zip (1.8 KB, 3 downloads)



  Find
Quote  
[-] The following 2 users say Thank You to Warrax for this post:
  • Lightning (09-13-2018), madsiur (09-12-2018)

#16
Posts: 226
Threads: 16
Thanks Received: 10
Thanks Given: 35
Joined: Dec 2017
Reputation: 2
Status
None
You guys seriously rock (I will credit all of you in my readme file). I need to do more testing, but so far this seems to work. Of course, the only downside is the already-known reflect bug. There is a fix for this here, but I really don't like the color of the digits in the fix. I think I am willing to deal with the bugged reflect color instead of digits that glow like in the fix patch.
  Find
Quote  

#17
Posts: 159
Threads: 3
Thanks Received: 12
Thanks Given: 91
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 0
Status
None
Good observations, it might uses those bytes but I never checked. It's best to use unpatched ROMs with Editors to avoid issues.



  Find
Quote  

#18
Posts: 226
Threads: 16
Thanks Received: 10
Thanks Given: 35
Joined: Dec 2017
Reputation: 2
Status
None
(09-13-2018, 07:41 PM)Warrax Wrote: Good observations, it might uses those bytes but I never checked. It's best to use unpatched ROMs with Editors to avoid issues.

Oh, sorry - I edited my post after you read it.  As it turns out, the bug was related to Panda's scroll animation fix (with Gau's rage).  I applied both patches at the same time and didn't expect such a simple patch to cause that error, so I assumed it was the Blue Digit patch (never make assumptions, eh?).  You should read my previous post again for other information I added, however!
  Find
Quote  

#19
Posts: 159
Threads: 3
Thanks Received: 12
Thanks Given: 91
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 0
Status
None
Oh I see. Thanks for the link, I forgot that patch existed.



  Find
Quote  

#20
Posts: 226
Threads: 16
Thanks Received: 10
Thanks Given: 35
Joined: Dec 2017
Reputation: 2
Status
None
(09-13-2018, 09:39 PM)Warrax Wrote: Oh I see. Thanks for the link, I forgot that patch existed.

Yeah, although I have decided not to use that reflect recolor patch. The numbers are really ugly in it.  On real hardware on my CRT, the appearance of reflect with the original Blue MP Digits patch looks fine.  It only looks somewhat lousy on an emulator! I am definitely happy to include the Blue MP Digit hack in my mod, so thanks for making it compatible with 1.1!
  Find
Quote  



Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)


Theme by Madsiur2017Custom Graphics by JamesWhite