Users browsing this thread: 6 Guest(s)
Pony Fantasy VI Remake

Posts: 2,548
Threads: 98
Thanks Received: 147
Thanks Given: 156
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 52
Status
Nattak\'d
Yeah that's fine. That's a reason why it says 'overworld palette cannot be saved here', because it can't be saved lol.


We are born, live, die and then do the same thing over again.
Quote  

Posts: 732
Threads: 36
Thanks Received: 12
Thanks Given: 41
Joined: Jan 2016
Reputation: 6
Status
None
Right, lol. :p

Well, back-up with the working sprites is patched with SwdTech and Rage stuff, both work fine. Gonna try Runic.

Another thing. I asked about the battle messages like "Mastered a new dance" and such. You guys said I have to edit them in Hex, okay. How?
  Find
Quote  

Posts: 676
Threads: 44
Thanks Received: 26
Thanks Given: 21
Joined: Jan 2015
Reputation: 11
Status
Zombie
From a non-spriter so take it as you will, but "GraphicsGale" is a good program for fixing palette orders after editing in paint or others. Can open the sprite sheet, the import the correctly ordered palette from an working, exported spritesheet, select match colors, then save the custom jumbled sheet. At that point it should import correctly is you haven't broke the sheet itself by somehow making it true color.

Also, changing the event that sets a character's palette will not show up in any editor, ever, and will only show up, in game if you play the game from before that palette setting event is run. After the palette has been set/character recruited, changing the event won't show in savegames or save states.


The only true wisdom is knowing you know nothing.
  Find
Quote  

Posts: 2,548
Threads: 98
Thanks Received: 147
Thanks Given: 156
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 52
Status
Nattak\'d
Using a hex editor, you just gotta load up the battle.tbl (table files, I linked you to them somewhere in this thread I think) and then do a text search for it, like 'Mastered', or 'new dance', and it will bring you to them. Now, without locating the pointer for any of those, you can only edit it to what the current amount of characters it has allocates. In other words, you can't overwrite what's next - this will make sense once you see them. So hopefully, you'll be able to do your edit without needed to relocate any, 'cause that's a bit harder (tedious rather). Not really though, but just something else that will need some thorough explaining lol.


We are born, live, die and then do the same thing over again.
Quote  

Posts: 732
Threads: 36
Thanks Received: 12
Thanks Given: 41
Joined: Jan 2016
Reputation: 6
Status
None
Okay. I don't want to do anything fancy - I renamed the Blitz and Dance commands and just want to change the notices to reflect that.

For Runic, it does now heal Celes, but only by the amount of the Spell's MP cost. There's no way to make it heal by the amount of damage it would do normally?
  Find
Quote  

Posts: 2,548
Threads: 98
Thanks Received: 147
Thanks Given: 156
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 52
Status
Nattak\'d
Are you positive it's healing by the spell's MP cost? I don't see how that could be, it should be like some % of the spell's damage. I'm not sure how to make it heal full damage though, no. I mean, maybe if I dicked around with it for a while, but one of the asm guys will have to help ya there hopefully. If that never happens and you can't get it, I can check that out in about a week.


We are born, live, die and then do the same thing over again.
Quote  

Posts: 732
Threads: 36
Thanks Received: 12
Thanks Given: 41
Joined: Jan 2016
Reputation: 6
Status
None
Don't worry about it, I'll put it back to MP.

As for the commands, fml. I forgot I'd have to change the menu too and there's not enough room in places to change the ability names (changing "Lore" to "Ancient," etc). What can I do?

EDIT - Honestly, nvm. The work to rename them versus just keeping them isn't worth it. I'll save the spellcasting animation problem for tomorrow and focus on sprites tonight.

Thanks again for your help, everyone.
  Find
Quote  

Posts: 2,548
Threads: 98
Thanks Received: 147
Thanks Given: 156
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 52
Status
Nattak\'d
You're gonna have to change the 'pointers' that basically do just that and 'point' to an address where the words are spelled out. So you'll have to find said pointers and re-point them to the new addresses where your expanded names are, which you should put in some free space in that same bank, since these pointers only read the middle and last byte of an address of C3.
Thanks to the disassembly you can search for these pointers much much easier.

For instance these ones (there will be more instances in various places):
(these are pointers)
C3/5C3A: 485C
C3/5C3C: 515C
C3/5C3E: 595C
C3/5C40: 635C
C3/5C42: 6B5C
C3/5C44: 725C
C3/5C46: 795C

(these are what they are pointing to)
C3/5C48: 0D7984ACA99EABAC00 (position of and word "Espers")
C3/5C51: 8D798C9AA0A29C00 (position of and word "Magic")
C3/5C59: 8D7A92B09D939E9CA100 (position of and word "SwdTech")
C3/5C63: 0D7B81A5A2ADB300 (position of and word "Blitz")
C3/5C6B: 8D7B8BA8AB9E00 (position of and word "Lore")
C3/5C72: 0D7C919AA09E00 (position of and word "Rage")
C3/5C79: 8D7C839AA79C9E00 (position of and word "Dance")


We are born, live, die and then do the same thing over again.
Quote  

Posts: 676
Threads: 44
Thanks Received: 26
Thanks Given: 21
Joined: Jan 2015
Reputation: 11
Status
Zombie
For your Runic healing this should work:

Code:
C2/357E: A9 01 21

C2/3595: 80 01 EA

All offsets for non-headered ROM.

The change at C2/357E should be setting it to heal HP as he said before.

The change at C2/3595 simply removes the call to the subroutine that normally sets the damage power to 0 (which, in this case would leave only the MP cost for "damage").

Just doing EA EA EA at C2/3595 would work as well, but why not do a BRA (always branch) just to tell the code to always skip one byte that already contains nothing (EA). It just fits the rest of the code better.

Anyway, I'm not saying this is a perfect fix. The HP being healed (if I'm correct) should be Normal Damage + MP cost of the spell being absorbed... but frankly its not worth more changes just to remove MP cost from the damage. Probably simple, just not worth it. 


So the changes should make Runic heal the user by the normal damage plus the casting cost of the spell.


The only true wisdom is knowing you know nothing.
  Find
Quote  
[-] The following 1 user says Thank You to Catone for this post:
  • DrakeyC (01-30-2016)

Posts: 732
Threads: 36
Thanks Received: 12
Thanks Given: 41
Joined: Jan 2016
Reputation: 6
Status
None
Thanks you, that worked. Laugh

I'm gonna try the pointer thing now. What is the "disassembly" mentioned?

EDIT - okay. I think I see.

Quote:C3/5C3A: 485C
C3/5C3C: 515C
C3/5C3E: 595C
C3/5C40: 635C
C3/5C42: 6B5C
C3/5C44: 725C
C3/5C46: 795C

(these are what they are pointing to)
C3/5C48: 0D7984ACA99EABAC00 (position of and word "Espers")
C3/5C51: 8D798C9AA0A29C00 (position of and word "Magic")
C3/5C59: 8D7A92B09D939E9CA100 (position of and word "SwdTech")
C3/5C63: 0D7B81A5A2ADB300 (position of and word "Blitz")
C3/5C6B: 8D7B8BA8AB9E00 (position of and word "Lore")
C3/5C72: 0D7C919AA09E00 (position of and word "Rage")
C3/5C79: 8D7C839AA79C9E00 (position of and word "Dance")

So if I understand this right, if I changed C35C3C to "413C" then it would point to C33C41 for where to enter the name, right? So I can find a blank spot (C3F490 looks good) in the C3---- data to input a new name, and tell the pointer to go there? Rinse and repeat for each instance?
  Find
Quote  



Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 6 Guest(s)


Theme by Madsiur2017Custom Graphics by JamesWhite