Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
All bugs list and fix?

#1
Posts: 1,633
Threads: 56
Thanks Received: 13
Thanks Given: 84
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 12
Status
Atma
Hi! Hello

Sooner or later i'll have to deal with this problem... better now, before i risk to fill some empty space in the rom, used from existing patches that fix bugs.

Anyone knows...
1) the list of all FF6 snes existing bugs and their effect;
2) the list of all existing patches that have as only purpose fixing bugs;
3) some link that answer very well to question 1) and 2)

if there are similar patches, i'd like to hear some opinion on which one is the best.


THE GREATEST CHALLENGE OF ALL TIMES AWAITS:
http://www.ff6hacking.com/forums/showthr...p?tid=2593
DO YOU HAVE WHAT IT TAKES TO SLAY A GOD?
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tenkarider's project #2 is started: FF6 Curse of the Madsiur Joke (CotMJ)
http://www.ff6hacking.com/forums/showthr...p?tid=2755
What happens when Madsiur tweaks your account? This full game hack will show that!
  Find
Quote  

#2
Posts: 2,549
Threads: 98
Thanks Received: 147
Thanks Given: 159
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 52
Status
Nattak\'d
Master ZED's bug FAQ is quite good: http://www.gamefaqs.com/snes/554041-fina...faqs/34007
And the Improvement Project thread here at Slickproductions has a list of most of all the bug fixes patches and says by who, there on page 1:
http://slickproductions.org/forum/index....pic=1115.0

These videos (there's quite a few) I thought were nice as well, I don't think it shows every glitch/bug in the game, but does have many:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ImQDFXf6Rns

But yeah the majority of bug fix patches are gonna be on those guys' sites, just search around. Sadly Novalia's site is down though...

There's still lots and lots of bugs that have not been fixed though of course. That guy 13375K31C43R over at Slick has been making a bunch of bug fixes recently. And even I joined the bug fixing club a while back with the Wrong Way, Idiot patch lolz:
https://www.ff6hacking.com/forums/showth...p?tid=2583


We are born, live, die and then do the same thing over again.
Quote  

#3
Posts: 3,970
Threads: 279
Thanks Received: 236
Thanks Given: 58
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 65
Status
Tissue-aware
There's also the bug guide updating thread and bug thread worth of checking on MnRogar's Den.
  Find
Quote  

#4
Posts: 3,970
Threads: 279
Thanks Received: 236
Thanks Given: 58
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 65
Status
Tissue-aware
(07-25-2015, 03:52 PM)Tenkarider Wrote: Sooner or later i'll have to deal with this problem... better now, before i risk to fill some empty space in the rom, used from existing patches that fix bugs.

Double post here... Hit

You can easily make most of your ASM change in another bank than in the bank covered by patches. As an example, if your work in C2, you can make your changes in an expanded bank even if you need to use some of the C2 functions like multiplication, division, or random number. These can be copied in the expanded bank if needed.
  Find
Quote  

#5
Posts: 1,633
Threads: 56
Thanks Received: 13
Thanks Given: 84
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 12
Status
Atma
That would mean extra work, especially for the code i already insterted... if i can avoid that, i'll avoid it by all means Tongue

Just saying, Catone said some time ago that patches are dumb and they basically rewrite the whole rom according to patch hex code... not sure if that's exactly what he meant, because when i apply evade bug fix patch, it doesn't rewrite all the hex of the rom as if it was only the vanilla with that patch applied, all my work is still there... do exist patch that invade even spaces in the rom which don't involve patch modificated bytes?


THE GREATEST CHALLENGE OF ALL TIMES AWAITS:
http://www.ff6hacking.com/forums/showthr...p?tid=2593
DO YOU HAVE WHAT IT TAKES TO SLAY A GOD?
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tenkarider's project #2 is started: FF6 Curse of the Madsiur Joke (CotMJ)
http://www.ff6hacking.com/forums/showthr...p?tid=2755
What happens when Madsiur tweaks your account? This full game hack will show that!
  Find
Quote  

#6
Posts: 2,549
Threads: 98
Thanks Received: 147
Thanks Given: 159
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 52
Status
Nattak\'d
Patches, dumb? Patches are great! Who wouldn't want to fix up a bug or two...or a hundred.
I don't know of any bug fix patches that would rewrite more code than needed, that's just silly lol. If done correctly patches only change what was intended in the ROM code, nothing else.


We are born, live, die and then do the same thing over again.
Quote  

#7
Posts: 1,633
Threads: 56
Thanks Received: 13
Thanks Given: 84
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 12
Status
Atma
What about conflicts among patches? any known issue?


THE GREATEST CHALLENGE OF ALL TIMES AWAITS:
http://www.ff6hacking.com/forums/showthr...p?tid=2593
DO YOU HAVE WHAT IT TAKES TO SLAY A GOD?
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tenkarider's project #2 is started: FF6 Curse of the Madsiur Joke (CotMJ)
http://www.ff6hacking.com/forums/showthr...p?tid=2755
What happens when Madsiur tweaks your account? This full game hack will show that!
  Find
Quote  

#8
Posts: 676
Threads: 44
Thanks Received: 26
Thanks Given: 21
Joined: Jan 2015
Reputation: 11
Status
Zombie
By "dumb" I ment the opposite of intelligent. Examples:

* It doesn't care what rom it is being applied to, it only knows that data at X location needs to be changed to Y.

* They only compare two roms (during creation) and make note of the differences, and ONLY the differences. If the edited rom the patch was made from detected no changes when compaired to its base rom at a location, then it will disregard that adress entirely and only concern itself with the addresses of noted changes during creation. (Hence the size generally being smaller than a base rom, yet changing so much). This is also why some patches will work for V1.0, V1.1, and even JP sometimes because the data effected just happens to be located in the same place for all. Other times not so, but the patch will still patch because it doesnt care what is being wrote over.

* Again, when appling the patch, it doesn't care what rom, or changes to the rom, have been made. It will change the data it knows to what it wants to, regardless of what that data is at the time. Conflicts arise when two patches start over writing the same exact data. (Most of the time this is gonna be when free space is used for new code since a fix for say Runic would cover different code than a fix for Vigor overflow, ect)


Most of the bug fixes I've found (I say bug fixes, not tweaks) will say right up front if the cross a different fix, and some will even say do one before the other and they'll work because the second was adapted to use with the first. I say this as a general statement, not every case, hence reading the info and understanding what is being fixed is important even more so if you have already made changes.

And yes, I still say "patches are dumb" because they do no checks, just blind changing of hex at certain pre determined addresses. At the time of patching, that patch only knows the data should be FFFF so that's what it makes happen, period.

That statement does not reflect the usefulness of patches, just how unintelligent they are.


The only true wisdom is knowing you know nothing.
  Find
Quote  

#9
Posts: 2,549
Threads: 98
Thanks Received: 147
Thanks Given: 159
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 52
Status
Nattak\'d
(07-27-2015, 08:06 AM)Tenkarider Wrote: What about conflicts among patches? any known issue?

Many patches conflict with each other, I don't personally know by heart which ones. Usually the more important well-done patches come with a readme or asm file that shows what space it uses, or can look at the ips log and keep a document for your hack. There's a tool created by mblock129 the Patch Conflict Finder that looks at as many patches as you want and see if they conflict, which is the best and easiest way, but his site is and has been down for a long time now though...
http://zephyr129.brinkster.net/patchconflict.html

Maybe its hosted somewhere else as well or someone here should have it and can upload & link it.


We are born, live, die and then do the same thing over again.
Quote  

#10
Posts: 676
Threads: 44
Thanks Received: 26
Thanks Given: 21
Joined: Jan 2015
Reputation: 11
Status
Zombie
Huh, I thought I got a patch checker from here... doesn't look like it though.

I do have one if you need it though, don't recall the name so not sure if it is THE conflict checker or something epse that compares patches and reports overlapping edits. Either way, if you can't find, I'll provide what I have.


The only true wisdom is knowing you know nothing.
  Find
Quote  



Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)


Theme by Madsiur2017Custom Graphics by JamesWhite