Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Menu Changes

#11
Posts: 3,970
Threads: 279
Thanks Received: 236
Thanks Given: 58
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 65
Status
Tissue-aware
(03-18-2012, 07:51 PM)Roy-boy Wrote: Got the espers taken care of but I'm still not getting this whole moving data thing. I added Gold at C3/FFF0 and then change the displays to LDY #$FFF0 but it either just doesn't show anything where GP should be or it doesn't show anything and my map gets all messed up when I come out of my menu...

It works fine for me (except the expected shop menu display problems):

[Image: test_00000.png] [Image: test_00001.png]

You're probably missing the (x, y) position on the screen which are the first two bytes, so yeah you need to write "gold" 4 times sorry, and you must finish your word by 00. Or you are pointing to a bunch of FF because you have a 200 bytes header. Other than that I don't know...

  Find
Quote  

#12
Posts: 315
Threads: 50
Thanks Received: 7
Thanks Given: 25
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 4
Status
None
(03-18-2012, 08:39 PM)Madsiur Wrote: It works fine for me (except the expected shop menu display problems):

[Image: test_00000.png] [Image: test_00001.png]

You're probably missing the (x, y) position on the screen which are the first two bytes, so yeah you need to write "gold" 4 times sorry, and you must finish your word by 00. Or you are pointing to a bunch of FF because you have a 200 bytes header. Other than that I don't know...

So if I add 200 bytes I should be in the C4 bank... is that right? at C4/01F0? It still has FFFFFFFFFFFFF------. but the next line doesn't
  Find
Quote  

#13
Posts: 3,970
Threads: 279
Thanks Received: 236
Thanks Given: 58
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 65
Status
Tissue-aware
(03-18-2012, 09:47 PM)Roy-boy Wrote: So if I add 200 bytes I should be in the C4 bank... is that right? at C4/01F0? It still has FFFFFFFFFFFFF------. but the next line doesn't

Right, if you have a header C4/01F0 = C3/FFF0 for the game. Other data start at C4/0000 (C4/0200 with a header).

  Find
Quote  

#14
Posts: 315
Threads: 50
Thanks Received: 7
Thanks Given: 25
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 4
Status
None
and let's us Gil for this example. would I change the WHOLE line to 86A2A5 and at the end of the line add 00? or how does this work?
  Find
Quote  

#15
Posts: 3,970
Threads: 279
Thanks Received: 236
Thanks Given: 58
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 65
Status
Tissue-aware
(03-18-2012, 10:16 PM)Roy-boy Wrote: and let's us Gil for this example. would I change the WHOLE line to 86A2A5 and at the end of the line add 00? or how does this work?

(03-18-2012, 08:39 PM)Madsiur Wrote: You're probably missing the (x, y) position on the screen which are the first two bytes, so yeah you need to write "gold" 4 times sorry, and you must finish your word by 00.

Read this again or take a word example from C3. The first two bytes of the word are his position. And why would you change a "whole" line to 86A2A5 ? You need as much instance of the word as there is in the menus.
  Find
Quote  

#16
Posts: 315
Threads: 50
Thanks Received: 7
Thanks Given: 25
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 4
Status
None
so it's (xy)86A2A50086A2A500---or something to that effect? I'm not following man. sorry to be so danged slow.

EDIT: Could you by chance give me a screenshot of yer windHex? I'm not understanding the xy thing or where,when, and how many times to put 86A2A5 and the 00
  Find
Quote  

#17
Posts: 3,970
Threads: 279
Thanks Received: 236
Thanks Given: 58
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 65
Status
Tissue-aware
Code:
"GP" : 2B  7B  86   8F   00
       X   Y   'G'  'P'  END

"Gp" : 77  7E  86   A9   00
       X   Y   'G'  'p'  END

"GP" : 41  7A  86   8F   00
       X   Y   'G'  'P'  END

If you would pay a bit more attention to the code I post, you would notice that for 3 instances of "GP" there is 3 different positions in the menu. Seems logic , no?
  Find
Quote  

#18
Posts: 315
Threads: 50
Thanks Received: 7
Thanks Given: 25
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 4
Status
None
Sorry man... I didn't mean to annoy you so much... things not goin so well so my mind isn't exactly focused... Thanx so much for yer patiance...

EDIT: I'm still lost. You said I am missing the xy which are the 1st 2 bytes. Ok, where do I put them on C4/01F0? and I have to put it Gold/Gil in 4 times on that light? How can I do that when there's not enough space for that, the xy, and the 00/END? I'm either missing something or you've left something out...

I'm at C4/01F0(C3/FFF0) and you say "You need to change the value of the LDY to the new offset in C3. If you write "Gold" at C3/FFF0 it will become LDY #$FFF0." Alright... what? I wrote gold, it didn't work. Then you said I'm missing the X,Y. Alright... where do I put it? And I need 00 at the end. The end of each time I write Gold? and I need to write it 4 times. All on 1 line? It won't fit all on one line... I'm sorry for being so slow if I am but it just feels like I'm getting half information on this. I've read it over and over again and I don't know if I'm using 1 line or more, where I put the X,Y on my line, how many times I need 00 and how I'm suppose to make it all fit T^T.
  Find
Quote  

#19
Posts: 831
Threads: 41
Thanks Received: 16
Thanks Given: 12
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 18
Status
None
Each screen and each map in the game is like the Cartesian coordinate system that is taught in math. Every screen is like a Cartesian coordinate plane, with a location in the x axis, and a location in the y axis. The notation for a specific location in the plane is commonly referred to as (x,y). If i take two steps in the positive direction of x, and three steps in the positive direction of y, that is represented by (2,3). Take a look at how to plot points in this plane to have a better idea about this.

The code that Madsiur showed contains the (x,y) coordinates for the screen, as well as the word ("GP") to be displayed on the screen at the specific (x,y) location. Of course, the location is in hexadecimal. What is the problem/difficulty making the change here?
Quote  

#20
Posts: 831
Threads: 41
Thanks Received: 16
Thanks Given: 12
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 18
Status
None
(03-18-2012, 11:59 PM)Roy-boy Wrote: I'm at C4/01F0(C3/FFF0) and you say "You need to change the value of the LDY to the new offset in C3. If you write "Gold" at C3/FFF0 it will become LDY #$FFF0." Alright... what? I wrote gold, it didn't work. Then you said I'm missing the X,Y. Alright... where do I put it? And I need 00 at the end. The end of each time I write Gold? and I need to write it 4 times. All on 1 line? It won't fit all on one line... I'm sorry for being so slow if I am but it just feels like I'm getting half information on this. I've read it over and over again and I don't know if I'm using 1 line or more, where I put the X,Y on my line, how many times I need 00 and how I'm suppose to make it all fit T^T.

Show a picture of the bytes that you have at location C3/FFF0.
Quote  



Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)


Theme by Madsiur2017Custom Graphics by JamesWhite