Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Odal's FFVI Hardtype

Status
None
Hello, I'm Odal. This is my first time posting, but I've been visiting here for resources on editing FFVI for a while now. This site has been awesome.

I've been working on my Hardtype patch for about 4 months now. I wouldn't consider it a fully completed patch yet, hence why it's v0.2. I still have more thorough testing to do. The goal is to keep the game the same for the most part, but to increase the difficulty. There are very few visual changes (Fenix Down -> Pheonix Down, and Vicks -> Biggs being the most notable ones). Most are stats changes, or changes to what certain overpowered items do. One of my main goals was to make the endgame items not so strong. In vanilla there was too much 9999 damage attacks thrown around. That should only rarely happen in this hack.

Here.
Odal's FFVI Hardtype V0.2
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=80ZDOVOI

I have the game balanced pretty much the way I like it up to the WoR. Balancing the WoB was the main difference in v0.1. v0.2 was mostly work on the second half of the game, though I am still in the process of testing it thoroughly. To me, this is the part of the game that needs the most work and has taken the most time. Once I get the balance in the WoR to how I like it, it'll be an actual release.

Probably some of the most notable changes:
-No esper level up bonuses
-Slower HP and MP growths
-More aggressive enemies
-Overall more nerfs to those abusive abilities we all know and love.
-Pheonix Downs cannot be used to kill undeads (life spells still work like they used to).
-Endgame items changed to be chosen more based on their situational usefulness than simply because of their sheer power.

For a more complete list of all of the changes: I tried my best to list all of the changes. I know for sure I left some out, especially really minor ones. But this should give you a jist of what's different. Enjoy.

Odal FFVI Hardtype V0.2 Changes (Click to View)