Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
I need a little help...

Status
None
(Edit: I meant to post this in hacking discussion, not in general, so if a mod/admin can move this, I'd appreciate it!)

Hi.

This is my first time doing anything related to romhacking. I followed as much advice as I could but I could never really find a good way to solve the problem that I'm having, which I'll get into in a second.

I'm using FF3usME670. I replaced Shadow's spritesheet with a Clyde spritesheet that I found here on this site. The program flat-out says that it cannot modify a character's palette overworld index. So, placing the sprite sheet works fine for battles, but in the overworld, results in this:

[Image: fixdis.png]

This is because it's still using Shadow's palette index. I know that's at least one problem, and so I looked up a way to fix it. Here's what I did in an attempt to fix it:

1. I downloaded an event dump of the game.
2. I searched the dump for any instance of where Shadow's overworld palette index is initialized. It just so happens that it occurs four times:

CA/7CAA: 43 Assign palette $04 to character $03 (Actor in stot 3)
CB/0A8D: 43 Assign palette $04 to character $03 (Actor in stot 3)
CB/CD59: 43 Assign palette $04 to character $03 (Actor in stot 3)
CC/6FB6: 43 Assign palette $04 to character $03 (Actor in stot 3)

3. I opened up a hex editor, and searched for the address A7CAA. This brought me to a value of 43 (showing that it's assigning the palette), then 03 (the character), and then 04 (the palette).

4. I changed the value from 04 to 01, since 01 is the palette that I wanted Shadow to use.

5. Repeated steps 3 & 4 until all palette assignments were set to 01.

This didn't work. At this point I really don't have any idea how to fix the problem, and I would greatly appreciate it if someone could enlighten me on how to finally fix it. I could just be missing something infinitesimally small, or not.

Thank you in advance!

Threads: 98