Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Spriting

Threads: 23
Thanks Received: 0
Thanks Given: 6
Status
None
I hope this is the right spot for this thread. I am VERY new to creating new sprites. I know it's something that takes practice to get good at.

I would appreciate any tips for a beginner to keep in mind when altering or creating new sprites. Especially when it's creating new sprites and working with the shared palettes. As stated before, I am a complete noob at this.

thanks in advance.
  Find

Threads: 250
Thanks Received: 11
Thanks Given: 7
Status
Traitor
Some screenshots were used from "Marks Pixel Art Tutorial".
Spriting is about shapes and shading and a few other things. No one expects you to be good at it first, but you can start by learning how to shade a shape.

Shading
First off, shading is all about feeling where the colors should go.
When shading, pick a light source. It is almost always from some angle shining downwards.
[Image: lightsou.gif]

Once you have found your lightsource, apply shades of color to your sprite that represent the way the light hits it. Do not Pillow Shade.
Before you read the quote below, you should know that pillow shading isn't as bad in smaller sprites as it is in larger ones like the Pokemon sprite I demonstrate. Simply, FFVI sprites are two small to put forth enough detail to pillow shade. It all depends on where you're shading however. You can apply pillow shading to a cape, but not so much to the arms and legs.

Quote from http://hubpages.com/hub/Sprite-shading-t...s Tutorial
Quote:Pillow Shading
In one word: Don't do it! This is typically where the inside of an object is brighter than the rest, and you make it darker in colors the deeper it goes and along the outlines. It looks horrible unless all the other pillow shade sprites are the same style. Even then, it doesn't look all that good!

Two example of pillow shading and normal shading.
[Image: rocky.gif]
[Image: 464.png][Image: imgshk.png]

Outlines