Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Item Hacking (Skeans and Rename Card)

Threads: 11
Thanks Received: 10
Thanks Given: 8
Status
Well-Fed
Hey, everyone! So I'm pretty new to hacking -- just yesterday did my first successful hack to turn every instance of 'GP/Gp' into 'Gil'; I'm still praying I didn't write 'il' over a character I actually need somewhere... Wink -- and I've been sitting down with usME trying to figure out how to make some item adjustments. I'm working on a hack -- eventually it's going to be as complete as I can make it, for now it's just ability system -- for which I want to create some new items, and because I'm anal about organisation, I'm trying to not only overwrite existing items, but actually reorder them so I can group my new items together on the list.

I've got two problems (so far, anyway), although I expect they're connected. I'm trying to a) move (or possibly remove) the Rename Card, but usME doesn't seem to list its rename functionality anywhere so I'm assuming it's hardcoded to the item ID? (like with Tintinnabar/item 229) in which case whatever item ends up with that same ID would bring up the rename menu, yes? and b) move the existing skeans as well as create old ones, but I similarly can't figure out how they're connected to the 'spell' abilities called when they're thrown.

I'm really getting into usME, am comfortable with hex editing (I've done a fair bit of save editing in the past and have a half-complete map of the CC:FFVII save file somewhere), and while I haven't done any ASM hacking before, I'm definitely willing to get my hands dirty with it. Wink So if anyone has an idea of where I could /start/ with this, that'd be awesome! I mean, obviously if anyone knows exactly how to fix it, that'd be great, too, but something to narrow it down a bit would be a big help, too. Wink

Current Project: FF6: Tensei | Discord ID: TristanGrayse
  Find

Threads: 279
Thanks Received: 236
Thanks Given: 58
Status
Tissue-aware