Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Newbie here...

Threads: 6
Thanks Received: 0
Thanks Given: 0
Status
None
Sorry; I know this is a FFVI (III) forum, but I couldn't resist using that line from FFX. Smile

Anyway, hello! I actually AM quite a newbie in the hacking department; I have nearly zero experience with hex editors and the like, but I'm a pretty quick study.

FFVI is my second-favorite FF game (next to IV), and as such, I'd like to just put my own personal stamp on a game I love so very much.

I'm wanting to start out simple, though: a simple sprite swap between Cyan and Leo, with maybe swapping out Shock with SwdTech.

Anything you guys could do to point me in the right direction would be greatly helpful. I've combed the site but haven't found anything relevant to my specific situation.

Anyway, glad to be here!
  Find

Threads: 279
Thanks Received: 236
Thanks Given: 58
Status
Tissue-aware
Welcome!

The sprite swapping and command swapping can be done with FF3usME available in the Tools section of the site or here. You can edit and import sprites in the bitmap editor and you can change an actor's commands in the actor editor.
  Find

Status
None
Thank you so much!

Right now, the only problem I'm having is actually running FF3usME. I can open and expand the ROM, but when I try to save it, I get an error message that says, "Seek failed on (location)." I've tried changing the ROM's location, but I get the same error message.

Any advice on how to fix that?
  Find

Threads: 279
Thanks Received: 236
Thanks Given: 58
Status
Tissue-aware
I never got that problem. Actually you don't need to expand the ROM to make the changes you want. Try to save after making a change without expanding the ROM.
I doubt it but maybe there is a problem with you file, try with the FF3us ROM available here
  Find

Status
None
Yeah, that was exactly the problem. Thanks for the link!