Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
FF6: the mana wars

Threads: 11
Thanks Received: 0
Thanks Given: 0
Status
None
i have been getting a couple quarries about my hack i am working on so i guess i will share. First off it's not really a hack, i call it a mod. It really just started out as a personal project for me and some friends, and it still is. I'm not really a coder so thats why im calling it a mod as most of the changes are just graphical.

I love ff6, it's my favorite SNES game and probably favorite RPG besides maybe Xenosaga. I wanted to keep the basis of the game in general as i love the game the way it is. As such i wont be changing major functions of the game such as esper use, magic system, etc. This idea was spawned from playing FF6: the eternal crystals and some features that i just hated, like only curtain PC's being able to use magic and espers. While the idea is unique it's a pretty big change . Since non-magic users can't even equip espers this made so the magic users ended up with god stats while the others fell way behind in power level. this was such a major change that a lot of players can't stand it. So i tried to avoid any changes that would just appeal to some players and piss others off.

what i am aiming for is a ff6 mod that fixes a lot of the bugs, adds some graphics changes for freshness but keeps the main aspect of the game intact. if you like the mechanics of the original this will still be the same game you love mechanics wise. so in summary it's really not going to be much of a Hack if your looking for something different and original. Since i'm working solo on this Hack it's taking quite a while to complete, BUT so far there is nothing that requires complex work and that i can't do. This project is still in infancy, it's just a matter of how long.

Some changes so far:
-new character and NPC sprites
- tools replaced with Rune stones
-New sword techs
- new epers