Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
hex palette overworld tutorial

Status
None
Can someone please make a tutorial on how to exactly swap palettes for overworld characters?

With that said, i'm a noob, but i did a little bit of research before posting. So i know that you can only swap the palettes (i.e. switching palette from 3 to 4) using the windhex. I tried following the poco loco's tutorial and i managed to change the battle sprites color but the same steps don't really translate well for the overworld sprites as you can't just swap 00 for 01 etc. From the last post i read, it seemed that you had to edit the script where the sprite first appeared...so that it would carry over for the rest of the game? I don't know but please make a tutorial for this and i'm sure it would decrease the frequency of similar postings.

I apologize if a tutorial is around or my question has been answered or that i posted it in the wrong part of the forums...please move it to where it should be. Thanks

Threads: 98
Thanks Received: 147
Thanks Given: 159
Status
Nattak\'d
I never get tired of answering this one. Laugh

What you need to do, is get a hold of the EVENT DUMP document, and search for the instance where the characters graphics and palette is loaded (note that many characters have more then one instance) and make the change. You can only assign overworld palettes 0-7. Not 9 as suggested in poco's tutorial, as it goes right back to palette 0 after 7 due to the game not being programmed by default to ever use any after 7 for the characters and NPC's ;[

So as an example, let's say you want to change Terra's Palette...
You would want to find the address of the instance where she receives her palette.

-Narshe Cliffs opening scene-
CA/5E3C: 3F Assign character $00 (Actor in stot 0) to party 1
CA/5E3F: 37 Assign graphics $00 to object $00 (Actor in stot 0)
---> CA/5E42: 43 Assign palette $02 to character $00 (Actor in stot 0) <---