Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
FF3SE-M

#1
Posts: 3,970
Threads: 279
Thanks Received: 236
Thanks Given: 58
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 65
Status
Tissue-aware
author: madsiur
Download


This patch relocalize the monsters graphics and their composition data respectively in the F2 and F1 bank of a 32Mbit expanded FF3US 1.0 rom with a header. The rom this patch is made from was expanded with FF3usME. You should do the same before applying the patch.

The goal of the patch is to relocate those data to a place where we could expand them with an editor, in this case FF3SE. This patch has not really a purpose if you do not use with a modified version of FF3SE (included in the downloadable package), unless you can convert a monster sprite to hex data and paste it in the rom.

You can still use FF3usME after applying the patch but you will be unable to see the monsters sprites or their molds(8x8 tiles composition). It's still possible however to edit formations and change the battle molds for instance.

The .rar archive include the patch, a modified version of FF3se, an anti-patch and two text files, one concerning the patch and the other the modified editor.

Those two files contains all the changes I made, in case someone wants to finish what I started.

The patch was extensively tested in normal battles and at the colosseum and even in special battles such as Kefka vs sabin&co and all the monsters graphics were loading properly.

If you find any problem with the patch, if you see that I missed something or if you find the bug or what is wrong with the modified editor, I would really like to know.

Here's the link to the page where the source of FF3se is available, for those who would be curious:

http://www.rpglegion.com/ff6/ff3se/index.htm


Here's a part of the readme.txt:

Old locations in the rom:

12AA20   12AA21  PTR  Pointer to 8-High Monster Composition Data
12AA22   12AA23  PTR  Pointer to 16-High Monster Composition Data
12AA24   12AE23 DATA  Monster 8-High Composition Data
12AE24   12B423 DATA  Monster 16-High Composition Data
297200   2CE3FF GFX  Monster Graphics

new locations in the rom:

31AA20   31AA21 PTR  Pointer to 8-High Monster Composition Data
31AA22   31AA23 PTR  Pointer to 16-High Monster Composition Data
31AA24   31AE23 DATA  Monster 8-High Composition Data *
31AE24   31B423 DATA  Monster 16-High Composition Data *
320000   3571FF GFX  Monster Graphics **

*Note that the Monster Composition Data can potentially ends at 31BE23
with the max space set in the modified FF3SE

**Note that the Monster Graphics data can potetially ends at 3671FF
 with the max space set in the modified FF3SE.


changes mades to the code (*** means a change):

monster graphics starting offset
Code:
C1/210E:     69 00            ADC #$00
C1/2110:     85 64            STA $64
C1/2112:     A5 65            LDA $65
C1/2114:     69 00            ADC #$00    ***    
C1/2116:     85 65            STA $65
C1/2118:     A5 66            LDA $66
C1/211A:     69 F2            ADC #$F2    ***
C1/211C:     85 66            STA $66

monster graphics starting offset (collosseum)
Code:
C3/AF8D:    A9 F2        LDA #$F2    ***
C3/AF8F:    85 F7        STA $F7
C3/AF91:    C2 20        REP #$20      
C3/AF93:    A9 00 00      LDA #$0000    ***

Monster composition pointers offsets
Code:
C1/217A:    6F20A8F1    ADC $F1A820    ***    
C1/217E:    AA          TAX
C1/217F:    7B          TDC
C1/2180:    E220        SEP #$20
C1/2182:    A400        LDY $00
C1/2184:    BF0000F1    LDA $F10000,X    ***
C1/2188:    992D82      STA $822D,Y
C1/218B:    C8          INY
C1/218C:    C8          INY
C1/218D:    E8          INX
C1/218E:    C01000      CPY #$0010
C1/2191:    D0F1        BNE $2184
C1/2193:    8023        BRA $21B8
C1/2195:    C220        REP #$20
C1/2197:    ADAA81      LDA $81AA
C1/219A:    0A          ASL A
C1/219B:    0A          ASL A
C1/219C:    0A          ASL A
C1/219D:    0A          ASL A
C1/219E:    0A          ASL A
C1/219F:    18          CLC
C1/21A0:    6F22A8F1    ADC $F1A822    ***    
C1/21A4:    AA          TAX
C1/21A5:    7B          TDC
C1/21A6:    E220        SEP #$20
C1/21A8:    A400        LDY $00
C1/21AA:    BF0000F1    LDA $F10000,X    ***

Monster composition pointers offsets(Colosseum)
Code:
C3/AFBF:    A020A8      LDY #$A820
C3/AFC2:    84E3        STY $E3
C3/AFC4:    A908        LDA #$08
C3/AFC6:    8007        BRA $AFCF
C3/AFC8:    A022A8      LDY #$A822
C3/AFCB:    84E3        STY $E3
C3/AFCD:    A920        LDA #$20
C3/AFCF:    85E6        STA $E6
C3/AFD1:    8599        STA $99
C3/AFD3:    A9F1        LDA #$F1    ***

C3/AFFD:    A9F1        LDA #$F1    ***
  Find
Quote  
[-] The following 2 users say Thank You to madsiur for this post:
  • Gi Nattak (11-09-2011), Robo Jesus (12-24-2017)

#2
Posts: 2,549
Threads: 98
Thanks Received: 147
Thanks Given: 159
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 52
Status
Nattak\'d
Sounds really cool, however I cannot get the modified editor to load a ROM at all. =X
I'm not sure if it's something with my computer or what, but it gives me a generic application error upon trying to load my ROM. Something I'm doing wrong maybe?? Anyways, thanks for sharing this patch!


We are born, live, die and then do the same thing over again.
Quote  

#3
Posts: 3,970
Threads: 279
Thanks Received: 236
Thanks Given: 58
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 65
Status
Tissue-aware
Did you opened a patched ROM? I just tried it. I downloaded my own patch, expanded a FF3US 1.0 ROM with a header to 32Mbits using FF3usME and applied my patch. After that I opened the modified editor and everything was there with the extra free space. I also tried the patch on a copy of my hack an everything in the editor was fine. I tried with an 32Mbit header-less ROM and I got that generic error saying it's not a valid ROM. Maybe the ROM you tried to load had no header?

The editor provided in the download cannot manage a regular ROM as the values of numerous offsets has been changed in the editor to make it usable with a ROM patched with relocalization.ips. The values changed in the editor also take in account the header (+200 bytes).


Edit: Using a FF3US V1.1 ROM won't work either as there is some glitches in the graphics in the editor after sprite #8 and the composition data of the subsequent sprites are all off .
  Find
Quote  

#4
Posts: 2,549
Threads: 98
Thanks Received: 147
Thanks Given: 159
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 52
Status
Nattak\'d
(11-09-2011, 11:58 PM)Madsiur Wrote: Did you opened a patched ROM? I just tried it. I downloaded my own patch, expanded a FF3US 1.0 ROM with a header to 32Mbits using FF3usME and applied my patch. After that I opened the modified editor and everything was there with the extra free space. I also tried the patch on a copy of my hack an everything in the editor was fine. I tried with an 32Mbit header-less ROM and I got that generic error saying it's not a valid ROM. Maybe the ROM you tried to load had no header?

The editor provided in the download cannot manage a regular ROM as the values of numerous offsets has been changed in the editor to make it usable with a ROM patched with relocalization.ips. The values changed in the editor also take in account the header (+200 bytes).


Edit: Using a FF3US V1.1 ROM won't work either as there is some glitches in the graphics in the editor after sprite #8 and the composition data of the subsequent sprites are all off .

Yeah, I made sure to carefully follow the directions of what kind of ROM to use, it's an expanded 32 Mbit ROM with a header. I suppose it must be my computer, as it seems to be a Windows error, not a wrong ROM error, but it's still strange that it won't work for me as all the other editors work fine, I'll have to try it on my other computer and see.


We are born, live, die and then do the same thing over again.
Quote  

#5
Posts: 3,970
Threads: 279
Thanks Received: 236
Thanks Given: 58
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 65
Status
Tissue-aware
(11-10-2011, 01:08 AM)Gi Nattak Wrote: I suppose it must be my computer, as it seems to be a Windows error, not a wrong ROM error, but it's still strange that it won't work for me as all the other editors work fine, I'll have to try it on my other computer and see.

That is strange..I wonder if anyone else will get that windows error...I suppose the original FF3se works on your computer. I only hex edited some variables and I didn't made any change to the core of the program. I didn't compiled a new .exe from a modified source either. I have no clue...
  Find
Quote  

#6
Posts: 2,769
Threads: 88
Thanks Received: 24
Thanks Given: 87
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 25
Status
None
amazing patch

thanks for making this


"Sometimes ninjas do wrong to each other, and in dat way the force of tha earf' comes around da moon - and at that presence, da dirt, it overshadows the grass, so you're like, I can't cut dis grass, there's no sun comin' through. So in order to enable each other the two fruits have to look each other in da eye and understand we can only be right, as da ripe is wrong, you know what I mean?"

-HNIC
Quote  

#7
 
Status
None
Great! Now I get 8000 extra bytes to play with.

However, my rom is 1.1 version ... will this still work? What kind of risk will I be facing using a 1.1 version rom with this?
 
Quote  

#8
Posts: 763
Threads: 83
Thanks Received: 55
Thanks Given: 7
Joined: Apr 2015
Reputation: 22
Status
Obliviscence
Oh look... yic, disregard my post in the hacking discussion thread about this.
  Find
Quote  

#9
Posts: 3,970
Threads: 279
Thanks Received: 236
Thanks Given: 58
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 65
Status
Tissue-aware
(10-08-2012, 10:44 AM)yic17 Wrote: However, my rom is 1.1 version ... will this still work? What kind of risk will I be facing using a 1.1 version rom with this?

I don't think there would be any problem but I would use a 1.0 ROM to be sure. Someday I will recompile the editor to make this really work with 60000 bytes of free space.
  Find
Quote  

#10
Posts: 1,261
Threads: 250
Thanks Received: 11
Thanks Given: 7
Joined: Jun 2009
Status
Traitor
Why are you using 1.1? lol
  Find
Quote  



Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)


Theme by Madsiur2017Custom Graphics by JamesWhite