Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Advance Sprite Palettes

Threads: 3
Thanks Received: 0
Thanks Given: 0
Status
None
So, I'm using FF6Tools, the online ROM hacker thing to try and make a mod/hack.

What I want to do at the moment is replace Edgar and Sabin with Biggs and Wedge.

Seemed easy enough. Export the "Soldier" sprite sheet and import it over those 2.
But when I do that, they show up as the green soldiers. I know that Locke's sprite palette is the only one that makes them show up as the normal brown soldiers, so naturally I set the Palette color to his when I did all this, but that didn't seem to do anything. Do I have to do something special to make the game use Locke's color palette on Edgar and Sabin? Can I even do that?

Forgive me, I'm quite new at this.

Btw, any way to turn that Pig sprite in my user information on the left over there into a Ghost?
  Find

Threads: 279
Thanks Received: 236
Thanks Given: 57
Status
Tissue-aware
(02-24-2022, 11:59 AM)LM008 Wrote: Do I have to do something special to make the game use Locke's color palette on Edgar and Sabin? Can I even do that?

This is a common question. There is the battle palette and field palette IDs. The battle palette ID can be changed with FF3usME/FF6Tools (I think) but the field one is assigned by event at character recruit. Check the palette document by runelancer here: https://www.ff6hacking.com/wiki/doku.php...s:doc:game

It will tell you where in the event banks palette for each character is assigned. This can be edited with FF6Tools event editor I think or worst case scenario with a hex editor. You'll need to test with a save file prior to the character recruit because the field palette ID is saved in SRAM.
  Find

Status
None
Okay....

So is it the bottom row of numbers I need to mess with? Example, I see this in the document:

Edgar
D8/EAA4 - Standing
D8/EAAD - Fanfare
02 80 01 40 35 80 11 42 35 02 80 00 44 35 80 10 46 35

Sabin
D8/EAB6 - Standing
D8/EABF - Fanfare