Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Comprehensive ATB Enhancement hack

Threads: 1
Thanks Received: 3
Thanks Given: 2
Status
None
Hi all, first time posting here. I've done a lot of modding for other games, but this is my first time ROMhacking. Halfway through my first ever playthrough of FF6, aspects of the ATB system bothered me enough to seek out a patch that would stop the gauges from filling during battle animations. After some digging around I found Think0028's simple nATB patch, but didn't like how it enforced Wait mode. C-Dude was helpful enough to revise a version that would allow the Active/Wait mode config setting to be functional once more, but I noticed that the ATB pause also had knock-on effects on status effect timers, checks for fleeing, the jump command, and even AI battle scripts.

After studying some SNES assembly references and the impressive patches made by other FF6 hackers (Leet Sketcher, assassin, HatZen08), I believe I have addressed all of these issues. Here is the readme:

Quote:Final Fantasy 6 -- Comprehensive ATB Enhancement v1.01
by RoSoDude https://rosodudemods.wordpress.com/