Users browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)
Graphics

#1
Posts: 8
Threads: 2
Thanks Received: 0
Thanks Given: 1
Joined: Jul 2019
Reputation: 0
Status
None
I'd like to edit field sprites of the characters & some boss sprites in the SNES version, does anyone know how to do it? Tried to find them in tile editor but no luck so far. FF6Tools allows to edit only battle sprites. Are there any other programs or methods? Thanks in adv.
  Find
Quote  

#2
Posts: 329
Threads: 23
Thanks Received: 133
Thanks Given: 124
Joined: Dec 2018
Reputation: 18
Status
Moog
FF3SE
https://www.ff6hacking.com/wiki/doku.php...util:ff3se

FF3SE lets you swap main character graphics, portraits, and monster sprites.

FF3USME
https://www.ff6hacking.com/wiki/doku.php...il:ff3usme

FF3USME lets you change ANY NPC graphic, but because of the original programmer's pet peeve, it switches the order of the World of Balance and World of Ruin map pointers.  This makes it incompatible with FF6Tools unless you create and adjust a definitions file for the latter.

Everything Wrote:EDIT: I think I figured out why the WoR graphics can be corrupted after expanding a ROM with FF3usME. For some reason, after making certain changes with FF3usME the WoR graphics and tile layout get swapped. I have no idea why, but Lord J must have had a good reason for doing that. If you want to open such a ROM with FF6Tools, make the following changes to your definition file (.json):

   Search for "worldGraphics2" and change its "range" to "0xEF7D07-0xEF9D17"
   Search for "worldLayout2" and change its "range" to "0xEF4A46-0xEF7D07"

I tested this out on an expanded ROM and it worked.
Source: https://www.ff6hacking.com/forums/thread...l#pid37249
  Find
Quote  

#3
Posts: 8
Threads: 2
Thanks Received: 0
Thanks Given: 1
Joined: Jul 2019
Reputation: 0
Status
None
Thank you for quick answer but I'm talking about FF5 not FF6, because it's FF5 Hub)
  Find
Quote  

#4
Posts: 15
Threads: 0
Thanks Received: 3
Thanks Given: 3
Joined: Feb 2019
Reputation: 0
Status
X-Zone
As far as I know there is no tool that can do that for SNES. There is nice tool for GBA.

However if you are willing to go trough the pain of manually do it, please join the FF5 Den at Discord: https://discord.gg/khzZ2s2X
  Find
Quote  

#5
Posts: 8
Threads: 2
Thanks Received: 0
Thanks Given: 1
Joined: Jul 2019
Reputation: 0
Status
None
(09-15-2021, 01:32 PM)Squall_FF8 Wrote: As far as I know there is no tool that can do that for SNES. There is nice tool for GBA.

However if you are willing to go trough the pain of manually do it, please join the FF5 Den at Discord: https://discord.gg/khzZ2s2X

What's the tool for GBA?
  Find
Quote  

#6
Posts: 329
Threads: 23
Thanks Received: 133
Thanks Given: 124
Joined: Dec 2018
Reputation: 18
Status
Moog
(09-15-2021, 12:41 PM)MFS Wrote: Thank you for quick answer but I'm talking about FF5 not FF6, because it's FF5 Hub)

Oh sorry, got here from the discord feed and didn't realize it was the FF5 subforum.

FF5's engine is built similarly to FF4's, maybe some of FF4's tools could be adapted for use with FF5.  Everything (the maker of FF6Tools) might even be working on something like that.
  Find
Quote  

#7
Posts: 15
Threads: 0
Thanks Received: 3
Thanks Given: 3
Joined: Feb 2019
Reputation: 0
Status
X-Zone
(09-15-2021, 03:16 PM)MFS Wrote: What's the tool for GBA?

Final Fantasy V Editor:
http://www.romhacking.net/utilities/898/
  Find
Quote  



Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)


Theme by Madsiur2017Custom Graphics by JamesWhite