Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Harp Weapon Tutorial

Threads: 2
Thanks Received: 0
Thanks Given: 0
Status
Afterglow
EDIT: (Thanks to Everything, and everybody who have participated in this discussion.  I am very satisfied with the work done here.  So rather than make an extra thread, I decided to show my work here. I tried to make it as simple as possible for everyone new to coding.)

I am not a coder, and while I have been trying to understand how things work, I admit I am far from competent. That being said, how difficult would it be to make a competent harp?  While I cannot replicate Edward's Harp from FF4, I have made a harp that functions very competently.

[Image: On-Equip-Screen.png]
[Image: working-Harp.png]
If you want to be able to make your own harp, you will have to learn how to use these programs at base level:
  1. Super Nintendo Emulator (To save state)
  2. yy-char (edits the weapon graphic)
  3. ff3usme (basic interface for weapon detail)
  4. hXd (edits hex code for the weapon)
You will also have to SACRIFICE these things in your game:
  1. Metal knuckle graphic (2 8X8 tile blocks)
  2. another graphic containing 2 8X8 tile blocks (for this example, the throwing card)
  3. GP Rain Coin Graphic
  4. GP Rain Animation Code
  5. Unarmed Weapon position (Technically this CAN be fixed though additional editing, but I didn't deem it necessary to fix)
FF3USME
Let's start with the easy part.  You'll want to choose the weapon you want to edit. (In this example, the Metal Knuckle, located at #84)

[Image: code-harp-1.png]
Here the weapon is already set to the knuckle (5E)  You want to set the Attack Animation to 39 (That's GP Rain) and also check box the Atma wpn. gfx. As far as I know it keeps the projectile from being transparent.  Finally set your desired SFX (I found Shiller to be appropriate, the hex is 6D and the Decimal is 109)