Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
FF3usME dialogue editor broken?

#1
Posts: 13
Threads: 4
Thanks Received: 1
Thanks Given: 0
Joined: Feb 2020
Reputation: 2
Status
None
I'm afraid I'm gonna need your help again guys, today I encountered a serious problem with the FF3usME dialogue editor. I've used the editor's "Manage Expanded Roms" function to move the dialogue to the F0 bank, which gave me about 73000 free bytes to work with. I've been editing and extending lots of dialogue for the last couple days, until I had about 59000 free bytes left when I last saved. But now, all of a sudden, it displayed my free space as -94000 bytes (negative number!) and told me I couldn't make anymore edits due to lack of space. I tried closing the editor and reopening it, but then the dialogue editor wouldn't open anymore, bringing an error message that says "Dialogue routine pointers were hand hex edited. FF3usME cannot work with the reformatted data."

I swear, however, that I did NOT hex edit anything dialogue-related, I wouldn't even know where in the rom the dialogue pointers are! I also didn't apply any new patches lately, as I have been doing nothing but dialogue editing for several days now, so patches could not be the cause of this. Until just a few hour ago everything still worked smoothly. I honestly don't know how it happened, but whatever the problem is, it seemingly came out of nowhere.

Does anyone have any idea what might have happened, and if there's a way to save my rom?
  Find
Quote  

#2
Posts: 28
Threads: 6
Thanks Received: 33
Thanks Given: 9
Joined: Feb 2016
Reputation: 0
Status
Enlight
I have seen this before, too, under similar circumstances. There is definitely a bug. In my experience the risk seems to be if you are working with expanded dialogue, save, continue editing, and save again.

Nowadays I do all my dialogue editing in the exported script file. Any time I import changes into FF3usME, I save and immediately exit. That seems to avoid the bug, though it may be overkill.

As for recovering your ROM, I am not sure. Have you been keeping backups?
If all the caption pointers really are corrupt, then you may be in for some manual recovery fun time. I will see if I can figure out anything about this bug, though. (Has anyone investigated this already?)
Quote  

#3
Posts: 13
Threads: 4
Thanks Received: 1
Thanks Given: 0
Joined: Feb 2020
Reputation: 2
Status
None
I've found some threads here that talk about such a bug when saving twice without closing the editor in between, but these threads were a couple years old and were talking about an older version of FF3usME, so I'm unsure if this is the cause. I'm using version 6.8.

As for Backups, my last one is 5 days old, but I've done quite a lot in between. I never thought that anything could happen when using FF3usME, so I was a bit lazy with constant backups. I guess that's my own fault. I will heed your advice and edit stuff only in the exported txt file from now on, hopefully this will prevent future troubles.

EDIT: Wait, I just double-checked: the editor's zip file says version 6.8.0, but the editor tool itself (when you hover the mouse over it) says version 6.7.1. Does that make a difference? Is this still the latest version, or was a wrong one accidentally packed into the archive?
  Find
Quote  

#4
Posts: 3,752
Threads: 270
Thanks Received: 743
Thanks Given: 346
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 62
Status
Tissue-aware
(03-16-2020, 01:28 AM)Gestahl Wrote: EDIT: Wait, I just double-checked: the editor's zip file says version 6.8.0, but the editor tool itself (when you hover the mouse over it) says version 6.7.1. Does that make a difference? Is this still the latest version, or was a wrong one accidentally packed into the archive?

The wiki has the correct version (6.8.0): https://www.ff6hacking.com/wiki/lib/exe/...e6.8.0.zip

For RotDS, we switched to Atlas for script editing (which can be done in any text editor). It allows unlimited script space but you need to make the pointers 24-bits instead of 16-bits and convert your script into an Atlas compatible one. I have a tool to convert the script/pointers and I have a ASM file for the 24-bit pointers hack. If you can't find any workaround I could try setting this up for you.
  Find
Quote  

#5
Posts: 13
Threads: 4
Thanks Received: 1
Thanks Given: 0
Joined: Feb 2020
Reputation: 2
Status
None
(03-16-2020, 08:34 AM)madsiur Wrote: For RotDS, we switched to Atlas for script editing (which can be done in any text editor). It allows unlimited script space but you need to make the pointers 24-bits instead of 16-bits and convert your script into an Atlas compatible one. I have a tool to convert the script/pointers and I have a ASM file for the 24-bit pointers hack. If you can't find any workaround I could try setting this up for you.

Thanks for the offer, maybe I'll take you up on it. I know nothing about Atlas or extending pointers, though, so first I'm gonna try it by doing my changes in the normal exported dialog_script.txt and then reimporting it. Under normal conditions, those 73000 free bytes that FF3usME's extention grants should be enough for me, as long as that corruption doesn't happen again. If importing a heavily modified script should fail as well, I would ask you for your tool and advice on how to use it.
  Find
Quote  



Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)


Theme by Madsiur2017Custom Graphics by JamesWhite