Help with Minimap?

Threads: 49
Thanks Received: 0
Thanks Given: 5
Status
None
I have been following the following guide for editing the minmap in my hack:
https://www.ff6hacking.com/wiki/doku.php...compressed

I have made the edits, and saved them out of YY-CHR. Then I recompressed them in PSV. The PSV image preview window shows the edits that I made, no problem. However, the status window states "bad compression packet". When I load the saved rom in my emulator, the world map will not load.

I'm very new to the minimap editing, and it is the only thing holding back the release of my hack. Any pointers?

I will note that I've already opened both in Cygnus and confirmed that they are the same number of bytes.

Projects:
FFVI: Divergent Paths (Completed) - a complete storyline and gameplay hack of FF6 that adds Leo as a playable character
  Find

Threads: 98
Thanks Received: 147
Thanks Given: 158
Status
Nattak\'d
That bad compression packet is annoying indeed, I'm not entirely sure why it does it if the amount of bytes is not over, but what I do is just keep editing the graphic (also was the mini-map) until it no longer gave that error. Hopefully someone will be able to offer a more technical answer to avoid it, to me it just seems like trial and error and it's iffy and tedious, but eventually you should be able to have it successfully imported without error. I guess sometimes PSV doesn't agree with the newly edited graphic enough to re-compress correctly, and changing it ever so slightly it says okay that'll work. For instance I would get the error and then change one of the mini-map colors to another or remove a certain pixel and then voilà it'd work.

Also, I hope you made a backup before this! If not you'll have to re-import the map pointers and data cause it's more or less 'bricked' once you get that error.

We are born, live, die and then do the same thing over again.
[-] The following 1 user says Thank You to Gi Nattak for this post: