Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
FF5 Character Names

#1
Posts: 16
Threads: 3
Thanks Received: 1
Thanks Given: 6
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Status
None
In every version of the game only Bartz's name can be changed. But out of curiosity, how possible is it to hack the English SNES trans of FF5 so that all the characters' names are changable when you meet them?

Is it just a matter of calling the 'change name' function and pointing it to a different memory location? Or are the names hard-coded beyond belief?
  Find
Quote  

#2
Posts: 795
Threads: 11
Thanks Received: 48
Thanks Given: 26
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 14
Status
Hp-Critical
It's definitely possible, as the FFV Ancient Cave hack does just that.

Beyond that, I don't know anything about hacking FFV, and from what I gather it's not very well documented.


Confused Moogles FTW
Quote  
[-] The following 1 user says Thank You to Lockirby2 for this post:
  • Binarynova (05-19-2015)

#3
Posts: 590
Threads: 34
Thanks Received: 36
Thanks Given: 23
Joined: Jan 2015
Reputation: 11
Status
Dead
Don't recall seeing much documentation, but I know there are some cool editing programs for FF V.

With that in mind, someone out there in the world had to know something about it. No clue where to look though.


The only true wisdom is knowing you know nothing.
  Find
Quote  
[-] The following 1 user says Thank You to Catone for this post:
  • Binarynova (05-19-2015)

#4
Posts: 16
Threads: 3
Thanks Received: 1
Thanks Given: 6
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Status
None
(05-18-2015, 10:53 PM)Lockirby2 Wrote: It's definitely possible, as the FFV Ancient Cave hack does just that.

So I looked up that hack. Apparently it added (among many other things) a barrel you can talk to to change the lead character's name. That's awesome! That means you could theoretically have a "Namingway" style NPC in every town.

I'll keep digging and see what I can learn.

Thanks everyone!
  Find
Quote  

#5
Posts: 5
Threads: 1
Thanks Received: 0
Thanks Given: 0
Joined: Nov 2014
Reputation: 0
Status
None
Character names are held in RAM starting at 7E/0990, and are present for all five characters. The name select menu may have the functionality to work on all characters; I'm not sure since I haven't worked with it. It should be a simple matter of watching the address, finding the event/menu code, and seeing if it does any checks for what character called it (I think it's likely).
  Find
Quote  

#6
Posts: 12
Threads: 0
Thanks Received: 3
Thanks Given: 3
Joined: Feb 2019
Reputation: 0
Status
X-Zone
Yeah the names are hardcoded into ROM. In the vanilla you can't change them. But you always may edit the ROM Smile
Other then that needs to be changed by mod.
  Find
Quote  



Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)


Theme by Madsiur2017Custom Graphics by JamesWhite