Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Blitz2, Swdtech2, Morph2, etc...

#1
Posts: 1,633
Threads: 56
Thanks Received: 13
Thanks Given: 84
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 12
Status
Atma
Ok, i believe this is probably impossible, but asking if it's actually feasible won't hurt... Laugh

I'm gonna toss an example or two:

1)
- Cyan is able to use Swdtech command, with his 8 levels charging bar and the usual related moves(Dispatch, QuadraSlice... ...Cleave) ;

- Say i have customized another character... Cloud(random example), now i want to assign him a customized command named Limit, which works exactly in the same way of Swdtech command... a second Swdtech command indeed... with a charging bar, that you can stop at one of its 8 levels of charge and select one of the eight moves... the only difference is that the command has 8 different moves(Braver, Blade Beam... ...Omnislash)... so we have 2 swdtechs and 16 related moves in total(8 usable only from Cyan and 8 usable only from Cloud) ;


2)
- Now the same would gonna happen with Blitz: Sabin has his 8 blitzs;

- A custom character... Auron has Bushido, Which works in the same way of Blitz, but with 8 different moves, and 8 different inputs to activate the attack;


3)
- Terra is able to morph as usual;

- a customized char... Zidane is able to Morph too, but his command is named Trance and instead of assuming the aspect of esper Terra, he will change into an actual Zidane, while morphed in trance;


4)
- Terra is able to morph as usual;

- Now, instead of Revert command, there will be... Sketch command instead(which will disappear as soon as Terra will return in human form).


So... anyone has an idea if it's feasible to do, some/all/any of those changes, and how do you believe it may be possible to make that work?

I wonder for example if it could work, copying the whole code of Swdtech command and paste it above the code of another command, something similar even for replace the choice of Revert command with another one, but i believe you should do just a little change for this one... maybe you just have to change the byte that says it will be put Revert, and change the value into the value of another command?


THE GREATEST CHALLENGE OF ALL TIMES AWAITS:
http://www.ff6hacking.com/forums/showthr...p?tid=2593
DO YOU HAVE WHAT IT TAKES TO SLAY A GOD?
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tenkarider's project #2 is started: FF6 Curse of the Madsiur Joke (CotMJ)
http://www.ff6hacking.com/forums/showthr...p?tid=2755
What happens when Madsiur tweaks your account? This full game hack will show that!
  Find
Quote  

#2
Posts: 36
Threads: 6
Thanks Received: 0
Thanks Given: 5
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 0
Status
None
1)This is how I'd go about it...
-This is a crazy theory and probably comletely and utterly wrong, but you have to overwrite some useless spells and add animations based on existing ones.
-Then you need to overwrite another command you no longer use
-you will probably need to go to the address of the original command and copy and
paste it over the new commands hex code GIVEN THEY ARE THE SAME BIT
LENGTH
-now the hard part, for the second sword tech (limit) you will need to point it to the new spells
-Now if you want to get fancy and have two different people learning skills you will need to duplicate the original code and place it in an empty space then have it point to C9 0?(? Being the number of the character slot) Instead of C9 02

This is a wild guess and I have no clue how to execute this and it will probably ruin your rom so have backups
  Find
Quote  

#3
Posts: 1,633
Threads: 56
Thanks Received: 13
Thanks Given: 84
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 12
Status
Atma
I almost already know what i should do, but i wanna know if that's possible to do, anyway i need of a 100% sure answer from expert guys of this site, and possibly some clue on how to do that, if my theory is not good...


THE GREATEST CHALLENGE OF ALL TIMES AWAITS:
http://www.ff6hacking.com/forums/showthr...p?tid=2593
DO YOU HAVE WHAT IT TAKES TO SLAY A GOD?
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tenkarider's project #2 is started: FF6 Curse of the Madsiur Joke (CotMJ)
http://www.ff6hacking.com/forums/showthr...p?tid=2755
What happens when Madsiur tweaks your account? This full game hack will show that!
  Find
Quote  

#4
Posts: 290
Threads: 3
Thanks Received: 40
Thanks Given: 1
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 9
Status
None
It's certainly possible, but you'll be working with some space constraints. For each extra command (Limit/Bushido/Trance), you'll need an extra command, which means overwriting an existing one. And the same goes for the abilities each new command will use, so that means another 16 or so spells you'll need to find room for - each block of 8 should be consecutive for indexing purposes.

Space in the ROM probably won't be an issue as you can probably just use some free space somewhere, where you'd need to copy/paste the original command code. You'd also need to manually programs the inputs for Bushido if you want them different from Blitz.


GET A SILK BAG FROM THE GRAVEYARD DUCK TO LIVE LONGER.

Brave New World
  Find
Quote  

#5
Posts: 3,969
Threads: 279
Thanks Received: 236
Thanks Given: 57
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 65
Status
Tissue-aware
As for morph, it would work too. You'll need to use some free SRAM for the morph gauge and copy code too. If you want to change the revert command, just change the command number at C2/122E.
  Find
Quote  

#6
Posts: 1,633
Threads: 56
Thanks Received: 13
Thanks Given: 84
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 12
Status
Atma
Cool, so it's really possible to have 2 charging bars for 8 different spells! Kungfu!

About the SRAM space for morph... do you have any idea of how much extra morphs you can add, before you don't have anymore space on SRAM?


THE GREATEST CHALLENGE OF ALL TIMES AWAITS:
http://www.ff6hacking.com/forums/showthr...p?tid=2593
DO YOU HAVE WHAT IT TAKES TO SLAY A GOD?
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tenkarider's project #2 is started: FF6 Curse of the Madsiur Joke (CotMJ)
http://www.ff6hacking.com/forums/showthr...p?tid=2755
What happens when Madsiur tweaks your account? This full game hack will show that!
  Find
Quote  

#7
Posts: 212
Threads: 1
Thanks Received: 11
Thanks Given: 2
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 7
Status
None
That the spells need to be consecutive isn't necessarily a real restriction. Blitz and SwdTech are programmed to look at consecutive spells, but (given adequate space) it wouldn't be too difficult to reprogram them to retrieve spell IDs from a list instead, like MagiTek does.

There is the issue of getting the correct name to display when the attack executes... in the worst cases, retrieving garbage data for the name can cause the game to hang for a good while. But this will be an issue regardless of whether you have consecutive spells or a list...




https://github.com/abyssonym/beyondchaos
Beyond Chaos is a full-game randomizer for FF6.
Quote  

#8
Posts: 3,969
Threads: 279
Thanks Received: 236
Thanks Given: 57
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 65
Status
Tissue-aware
(11-21-2014, 09:30 PM)Tenkarider Wrote: About the SRAM space for morph... do you have any idea of how much extra morphs you can add, before you don't have anymore space on SRAM?

You only need one byte for the morph counter and one bit for the availability of morph so there is really no space issue.
  Find
Quote  

#9
Posts: 1,633
Threads: 56
Thanks Received: 13
Thanks Given: 84
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 12
Status
Atma
So... 5 different morphs -> 4 command codes replaced from 4 copies of morph code
+ 8 bytes to add on SRAM?


THE GREATEST CHALLENGE OF ALL TIMES AWAITS:
http://www.ff6hacking.com/forums/showthr...p?tid=2593
DO YOU HAVE WHAT IT TAKES TO SLAY A GOD?
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tenkarider's project #2 is started: FF6 Curse of the Madsiur Joke (CotMJ)
http://www.ff6hacking.com/forums/showthr...p?tid=2755
What happens when Madsiur tweaks your account? This full game hack will show that!
  Find
Quote  

#10
Posts: 212
Threads: 1
Thanks Received: 11
Thanks Given: 2
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 7
Status
None
Regarding point #4 (replacing Revert with a different command)... normally you would think that this would be a very simple change, but the developers decided to be a bit too clever, and used an XOR instruction to toggle between Morph and Revert. It's still not a very big deal, but you'd have to write new code to decide what the command should be, which is a pain.




https://github.com/abyssonym/beyondchaos
Beyond Chaos is a full-game randomizer for FF6.
Quote  



Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)


Theme by Madsiur2017Custom Graphics by JamesWhite