Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
ASM Requests

#11
Posts: 2,548
Threads: 98
Thanks Received: 147
Thanks Given: 158
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 52
Status
Nattak\'d
Oh cool, okay then. Yeah a long time ago for my hack Angelo did change the 8F unlock all sword techs to allow Strago to be granted a spell instead, so I figured that was like no longer an option and would require a new code for other characters. I never knew he made a thread about it and any character could be used! >_<

Thanks man. =)

EDIT:

I can confirm that I've had this code already in my hack the whole time >_<
But, I wouldn't have known I guess unless I made this 'request' lol. Like I say, I figured it was just for Strago...for some reason. I'm a fool for not thoroughly documenting important changes for my hack for the first couple years.


We are born, live, die and then do the same thing over again.
Quote  

#12
Posts: 2,548
Threads: 98
Thanks Received: 147
Thanks Given: 158
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 52
Status
Nattak\'d
Is there anyway to effectively separate the status' regen and seizure so they do not act on each other? For instance I have a Relic that "Repels Seizure status.", but this in-turn as I come to find out today also blocks regen status, which is whack! Before I go and make my Relic no longer protect against seizure, is there anyway you guys can think of to separate them?


We are born, live, die and then do the same thing over again.
Quote  

#13
Posts: 3,969
Threads: 279
Thanks Received: 236
Thanks Given: 57
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 65
Status
Tissue-aware
(04-01-2014, 07:50 PM)Gi Nattak Wrote: Is there anyway to effectively separate the status' regen and seizure so they do not act on each other? For instance I have a Relic that "Repels Seizure status.", but this in-turn as I come to find out today also blocks regen status, which is whack! Before I go and make my Relic no longer protect against seizure, is there anyway you guys can think of to separate them?

I think this piece of code is what you are looking for:

Code:
C2/26A8: 89 00 02     BIT #$0200
C2/26AB: F0 05        BEQ $26B2   (if Regen blocked, branch)
C2/26AD: 89 40 00     BIT #$0040
C2/26B0: D0 03        BNE $26B5   (if Seizure isn't blocked, branch)
C2/26B2: 29 BF FD     AND #$FDBF  (SO if either Regen or Seizure is blocked, block both.
                                   should explain Regen failing on Ribbon)

You could probably NOP all this and have one status not block the other when blocked.
  Find
Quote  
[-] The following 1 user says Thank You to madsiur for this post:
  • Gi Nattak (04-02-2014)

#14
Posts: 2,548
Threads: 98
Thanks Received: 147
Thanks Given: 158
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 52
Status
Nattak\'d
Beautiful, that did it. =) Thank you.


We are born, live, die and then do the same thing over again.
Quote  

#15
Posts: 2,548
Threads: 98
Thanks Received: 147
Thanks Given: 158
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 52
Status
Nattak\'d
I have a couple more requests here if any assembly junkies wanna help a brotha out! They are nothing too exciting, and obscure as usual, but are important to my hack so it would be greatly appreciated, as always! I hope it's nothing too crazy. Cover

1) I need characters equipped weapon graphic to show back up after using Rage (I have it now so rage doesn't use berserk on the character anymore so they can use something else next turn you see, but the weapon of the monster sticks on the character, is the problem.) I'm able to knock off the weapon switch from happening, but I'd like it to still do the switch, and then revert back to normal weapon.

is handled here:
C2/0625: BF 1A 00 CF LDA $CF001A,X (monster's regular weapon graphic)

2) I need the spell learn % show up on weapons too, like it does already for armor.

item spell learn % code:

C3/87CE: BF0350D8 LDA $D85003,X (Load item X's spell learn rate)
C3/87D2: F016 BEQ $87EA
C3/87D4: 85E0 STA $E0
C3/87D6: BF0450D8 LDA $D85004,X (Load item X's spell learned)
C3/87DA: 85E1 STA $E1
C3/87DC: C220 REP #$20 (16 bit memory/accum.)
C3/87DE: A92F83 LDA #$832F
C3/87E1: 8F899E7E STA $7E9E89
C3/87E5: E220 SEP #$20 (8 bit memory/accum.)
C3/87E7: 20ED5A JSR $5AED (draw spell name and learn rate)
C3/87EA: 60 RTS

Big ol' thanks and credit for anyone willing to take the time out for this. Confused


We are born, live, die and then do the same thing over again.
Quote  

#16
Posts: 175
Threads: 11
Thanks Received: 10
Thanks Given: 8
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 13
Status
Well-Fed
Spell learn rate showing up on weapons: GO!

Code:
hirom
;header

org $C3875D
LDX $2134
LDA $D85013,X
BPL Check2hand
LDY #$8E30       ; position of and word 'Runic'
JSR $02F9

Check2hand:
LDX $2134
LDA $D85013,X
AND #$40
BEQ CheckBushido
LDY #$8E38       ; position of and word '2-hand'
JSR $02F9

CheckBushido:
LDX $2134
LDA $D85013,X
AND #$02
BEQ CheckSpell
LDY #$8E26       ; position of and word 'SwdTech'
JSR $02F9

CheckSpell:
JMP $87C7        ; jump to 'print spell name/rate'


org $C38e26
db $AF, $81  ; adjust 'SwdTech' up one row

org $C38E30
db $2F, $82  ; adjust 'Runic' up one row

org $C38E38
db $AF, $82  ; adjust '2-hand' up one row


I've been wanting to solve this for a while anyway, so this was the perfect excuse. Laugh This code is completely in-line, by virtue of rendering the existing code slightly more efficient. (The efficiency wasn't even my idea -- it's mentioned in the disassembly!)

ETA: WAIT A MOMENT. Had a brain-fart. If SwdTech isn't available, it'll bypass the spell-learn-rate code... One moment, new code forthcoming.

ETA2: Aaand fixed, and it's a byte shorter. Go me. Laugh


Current Project: FF6: Tensei | Discord ID: TristanGrayse
  Find
Quote  
[-] The following 2 users say Thank You to GrayShadows for this post:
  • Gi Nattak (08-21-2014), Warrax (09-18-2017)

#17
Posts: 2,548
Threads: 98
Thanks Received: 147
Thanks Given: 158
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 52
Status
Nattak\'d
Thank you! And I'm glad to hear you've been meaning to do this. Very nice for those teaching spells from weapons. =)


We are born, live, die and then do the same thing over again.
Quote  

#18
Posts: 175
Threads: 11
Thanks Received: 10
Thanks Given: 8
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 13
Status
Well-Fed
Once I actually looked at the code, it was surprisingly easy -- being able to render the code more efficient made space for the JMP to the 'check for and display spell name/learning rate' code that armor uses. Brainfart aside, took me about ten minutes. If that. Wink

Now, your first question is going to be a little more complicated -- I've got the sense of how you're going to have to do it, but I'm not sure where to put the code yet...

-----

ETA: Okay, so. This is untested, but I'm not sure what/how you've modded your ROM re: Rage to begin with, so it's hard for me to test it, but. This might work? It pulls Gau's right hand/left hand directly from the SRAM, which is not the tidiest way but it prevents having to reinitialise a whole bunch of other stuff that'd probably screw up the battle flow in ways we don't want. So. Try this?

Code:
org $C2158E
JMP AdjustWeapon    ; originally a JMP to C2/2675, where we'll jump after executing our new code

org $C2xxxx
AdjustWeapon:
PHA
LDA $17B6
STA $3CA8,Y
LDA $17B7
STA $3CA9,Y
PLA
JMP $2675           ; our original end-point, where we need to jump after this code

Just set the org $C2xxxx to anywhere you've still got... 17? bytes of space still. I think it's 17. It's late, I'm not sure I can count anymore.


Current Project: FF6: Tensei | Discord ID: TristanGrayse
  Find
Quote  

#19
Posts: 2,548
Threads: 98
Thanks Received: 147
Thanks Given: 158
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 52
Status
Nattak\'d
Ah niceness! I'll give it a try asap and let ya know.


We are born, live, die and then do the same thing over again.
Quote  

#20
Posts: 1,633
Threads: 56
Thanks Received: 13
Thanks Given: 84
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 12
Status
Atma
About your OP... Synchysi made a patch about that... so, how this particular level up works?
According to what i understood, it makes gain xx levels to the selected character, he gains parameters and the experience is counted as normal.

Does it mean that the character gets HP and MP using the same code used
when you level up at the end of a battle?


THE GREATEST CHALLENGE OF ALL TIMES AWAITS:
http://www.ff6hacking.com/forums/showthr...p?tid=2593
DO YOU HAVE WHAT IT TAKES TO SLAY A GOD?
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tenkarider's project #2 is started: FF6 Curse of the Madsiur Joke (CotMJ)
http://www.ff6hacking.com/forums/showthr...p?tid=2755
What happens when Madsiur tweaks your account? This full game hack will show that!
  Find
Quote  



Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)


Theme by Madsiur2017Custom Graphics by JamesWhite