FF6 Hacking
new here and have some questions - Printable Version

+- FF6 Hacking (https://www.ff6hacking.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Hacks, Resources and Tutorials (https://www.ff6hacking.com/forums/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: Opera House Rehearsal Room (https://www.ff6hacking.com/forums/forum-71.html)
+--- Thread: new here and have some questions (/thread-4005.html)

new here and have some questions - musicalman - 05-24-2020

Hi everyone, I'm new here. Hopefully I'm posting this in the right place! Apologies for the long post, but I have a fair number of questions.

I'm by no means an expert, but I've done some porting for SmW, so I know, musically speaking, how SPC700 music works. I randomly stumbled across FF6 custom music on Youtube, and decided to at least give FF6 porting a shot and see how I take to it. For now, I expect to be more active in the SmW community but I always like trying new things.

I should also probably mention that I am visually impaired and am unable to play most video games. Thus, my experience with romhacking is nonexistent, and will probably stay that way for the near future. The reason I actually took off with SMW porting is because the music insertion tool is standalone enough that someone like me who will never really get into romhacking can still immerse and specialize in the musical side of the process. But the tools available for FF6 seem rather daunting to me because more knowledge about the rom seems to be required. While I understand the basics somewhat, I have trouble putting it together in a way I understand. So please forgive me if I ask stupid questions. BTW if it's more appropriate to discuss this on the Discord, let me know.

I assume I need to use these tools to make ports. Learning the MML syntax shouldn't be much of a problem for me, with a few exceptions, but I feel confident in my ability to work out that bit of the process. Assuming I'm off to a good start so far, here are the things which confuse me at the moment.