FF6 Hacking
Rage Mechanics Question and Idea - Printable Version

+- FF6 Hacking (https://www.ff6hacking.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Discussion Forums (https://www.ff6hacking.com/forums/forum-5.html)
+--- Forum: Magitek Research Facility (https://www.ff6hacking.com/forums/forum-9.html)
+--- Thread: Rage Mechanics Question and Idea (/thread-3775.html)



Rage Mechanics Question and Idea - DrakeyC - 11-30-2018

The question is easy - where and how does the same store information that determines in what order Rages appear in the menu? Is manually re-organizing them would be plausible?

The idea is more complicated, I don't wanna do this on my end but I think it could be neat - could Rage and Control be combined? I mean that like, when Gau Rages say, the Magitek Armor, instead of randomly using one of the two Rage commands each turn, he acts like Relm Controlling an enemy; when his turn comes up you get the Control command window with the four Control attacks, and can manually input a command for him each turn.

Would this be possible?


RE: Rage Mechanics Question and Idea - madsiur - 11-30-2018

The game has 1 bit per rage, on $20 bytes. The menu just read those 32 bytes in order. This is how the game add a rage when it's learned in battle:

Code:
C2/4A10: BD 01 20     LDA $2001,X    (Low byte of monster #)
C2/4A13: 20 17 52     JSR $5217      (X = monster # DIV 8, A = 2^(monster # MOD 8))
C2/4A16: 1D 2C 1D     ORA $1D2C,X
C2/4A19: 9D 2C 1D     STA $1D2C,X    (Add rage to list of known ones)



RE: Rage Mechanics Question and Idea - CrumpledMedal - 11-30-2018

I don't exactly know if you can make it like the Control that Relm has, but it would be nice to see if that could be implemented. If there was a way to branch the Control command to the Rage Command it would be interesting. Any Controllable Gau would be nice.


RE: Rage Mechanics Question and Idea - B-Run - 12-01-2018

There is a fair amount that would go into it, but technically possible. There are a lot of places that check for rage status because it interacts with battle a lot differently than other abilities. I think you'd need to start by not automatically putting a user with rage in the attack queue once ATB is full. Then you'd need to link it to an existing C1 routine for attack selection (maybe using the Control command with a bunch of branching code for rage)... I'm sure there'd be plenty more to it than that, but that's where you'd want to be looking to start.


RE: Rage Mechanics Question and Idea - DrakeyC - 12-01-2018

(11-30-2018, 01:24 PM)madsiur Wrote: The game has 1 bit per rage, on $20 bytes. The menu just read those 32 bytes in order. This is how the game add a rage when it's learned in battle:

Code:
C2/4A10: BD 01 20     LDA $2001,X    (Low byte of monster #)
C2/4A13: 20 17 52     JSR $5217      (X = monster # DIV 8, A = 2^(monster # MOD 8))
C2/4A16: 1D 2C 1D     ORA $1D2C,X
C2/4A19: 9D 2C 1D     STA $1D2C,X    (Add rage to list of known ones)

Okay, then how do I change the order of those bytes?


RE: Rage Mechanics Question and Idea - madsiur - 12-01-2018

(12-01-2018, 05:01 PM)DrakeyC Wrote: Okay, then how do I change the order of those bytes?

It's simply the first 254 monsters in order.. if you don't want to use that then you need some sort of table of 254 entries telling what is your custom order and use it everywhere the default order is used.


RE: Rage Mechanics Question and Idea - madsiur - 12-12-2018

FYI, assassin has released an alphabetic rage order patch:

[attachment=385]