FF6 Hacking
Modifying the Menu - Printable Version

+- FF6 Hacking (https://www.ff6hacking.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Discussion Forums (https://www.ff6hacking.com/forums/forum-5.html)
+--- Forum: Magitek Research Facility (https://www.ff6hacking.com/forums/forum-9.html)
+--- Thread: Modifying the Menu (/thread-1976.html)



Modifying the Menu - Zeemis - 02-11-2013

So I've been working on creating a custom background by altering the X and Y coordinates of specific features of the game and I stumbled across this in the C3 bank. There are 16 offsets per X and Y character sprite; however there are only 14 characters. It's as if Squaresoft was intending for 16 characters in the character select screen in the airship, but dummied out the last two.
Code:
X position of characters in character select screen
C3/76CA:    18
C3/76CB:    34
C3/76CC:    50
C3/76CD:    6C
C3/76CE:    88
C3/76CF:    A4
C3/76D0:    C0
C3/76D1:    DC
C3/76D2:    18
C3/76D3:    34
C3/76D4:    50
C3/76D5:    6C
C3/76D6:    88
C3/76D7:    A4
C3/76D8:    C0          (unless a character was put here during moving around, this is a blank spot)
C3/76D9:    DC          (unless a character was put here during moving around, this is a blank spot)

Y position of characters in character select screen
C3/76DA:    5C
C3/76DB:    5C
C3/76DC:    5C
C3/76DD:    5C
C3/76DE:    5C
C3/76DF:    5C
C3/76E0:    5C
C3/76E1:    5C
C3/76E2:    78
C3/76E3:    78
C3/76E4:    78
C3/76E5:    78
C3/76E6:    78
C3/76E7:    78
C3/76E8:    78          (unless a character was put here during moving around, this is a blank spot)
C3/76E9:    78          (unless a character was put here during moving around, this is a blank spot



RE: Modifying the Menu - Zeemis - 02-13-2013

Example: This is what I'm trying to obtain.
[Image: NewMenu.png]
Here's an update on what I've been able to do thus far. So far, I can center the text but raising it on the Y axis making it either too high, or too low. It doesn't seem to raise it every pixel, but I suppose that's understandable being we're raising the text based on bits. Ultimately, I doubt I'll be able to do this based on these limitations. I'm not giving up, I just don't see it being possible to make such a delicate menu like the example above inside of FF6. If I could have more precision with altering the X and Y axis values of objects on the menu, this would be much more possible. To further sum it up, I can move almost everything around the menu, I just can't move it with precision. Tongue

New, and Default.
[Image: Centered&Above.png] [Image: Default.png]


RE: Modifying the Menu - cdizzle - 03-27-2013

(02-11-2013, 04:55 AM)Zeemis Wrote: So I've been working on creating a custom background by altering the X and Y coordinates of specific features of the game and I stumbled across this in the C3 bank. There are 16 offsets per X and Y character sprite; however there are only 14 characters. It's as if Squaresoft was intending for 16 characters in the character select screen in the airship, but dummied out the last two.
Code:
X position of characters in character select screen
C3/76CA:    18
C3/76CB:    34
C3/76CC:    50
C3/76CD:    6C
C3/76CE:    88
C3/76CF:    A4
C3/76D0:    C0
C3/76D1:    DC
C3/76D2:    18
C3/76D3:    34
C3/76D4:    50
C3/76D5:    6C
C3/76D6:    88
C3/76D7:    A4
C3/76D8:    C0          (unless a character was put here during moving around, this is a blank spot)
C3/76D9:    DC          (unless a character was put here during moving around, this is a blank spot)

Y position of characters in character select screen
C3/76DA:    5C
C3/76DB:    5C
C3/76DC:    5C
C3/76DD:    5C
C3/76DE:    5C
C3/76DF:    5C
C3/76E0:    5C
C3/76E1:    5C
C3/76E2:    78
C3/76E3:    78
C3/76E4:    78
C3/76E5:    78
C3/76E6:    78
C3/76E7:    78
C3/76E8:    78          (unless a character was put here during moving around, this is a blank spot)
C3/76E9:    78          (unless a character was put here during moving around, this is a blank spot
Do you think its possible for one to use this information to patch the game so that two more characters could be on the Airship and also the final battle?

I have seen the Guest Adder patch to add characters:
http://www.romhacking.net/hacks/1009/
You can get two more characters, but they are tied to using an item outside of battle. They are also not added to your airship roster nor are they usable against the final boss. I have been hoping one day someone figures a way around this limitation, but the patch really is awesome with it's limitations! Tongue




RE: Modifying the Menu - Zeemis - 03-27-2013

Is this really related to modifying the menu?


RE: Modifying the Menu - cdizzle - 03-27-2013

It's really related to pertinent information in your first post. If I wasn't supposed to respond or inquire about that information, why was it present? Perhaps I'm missing something?


RE: Modifying the Menu - CaptCatchphrase - 03-27-2013

Zeemis, regarding the menu appearance, would it be possible to raise the character's portrait up and then put the name underneath, sort of the opposite effect of the FF4 image that you posted? Just a thought.


RE: Modifying the Menu - madsiur - 03-27-2013

(03-27-2013, 10:00 AM)Capt. Catchphrase Wrote: [...] would it be possible to raise the character's portrait up and then put the name underneath, sort of the opposite effect of the FF4 image that you posted?

It's possible to move the portrait and the name anywhere on the screen. You just need to find where that position is set. It took me about 5-6 hours total looking at code in bank C3
to find the X and Y positions of the portraits in the main menu.