Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response (ASMR)

Threads: 83
Thanks Received: 55
Thanks Given: 7
Status
Obliviscence
wikipedia Wrote:Autonomous sensory meridian response (ASMR) is a euphoric experience characterized by a static-like or tingling sensation on the skin that typically begins on the scalp and moves down the back of the neck and upper spine, precipitating relaxation.

On last week's stream this subject was brought up. It's something that I've been doing off-and-on for a couple years, and it is extremely relaxing. There are a ton of youtube videos for this and its one of the best background activities that can be going on while I hack. I won't call it "the secret to my success," but it certainly helps keep me happy and relaxed while I code.

It can be really hard to explain ASMR to someone who hasn't experienced it before, in fact, some can't experience it at all (sadly). But I encourage everyone to at least give it a shot. Most of the time you'll want to be in a quiet place wearing comfortable headphones. A lot of people use ASMR not just to relax, but also as a sleep aid. So anyone here who has trouble sleeping should definitely give these a shot.

I thought it'd be fun to make a thread where people can share some of their favorite videos for others to relax to, or maybe just help them experience something new! So here are some of my favorites I've come accross.

This is the one that started it all for me. I was having a really frustrating day, and was tired, and just didn't feel like doing anything. I've always liked the sound of whispers and typed "whispering" into youtube and this was the first thing that popped up. I had no idea what ASMR was and didn't think much of it until later. This is still one of my favorites.