Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Advice Wanted

Threads: 1
Thanks Received: 0
Thanks Given: 2
Status
None
Hi, Guys!

I'm new in this subject so I need your advice. I love FF series a lot and have a huge interest to know as much as possible about these games, including minute details like crazy fanatic. I always wonder how people find out such things as damage calculation and stuff like that.

I ignited desire to see a source code of a game and learn to navigate in it. But I don't know what should I begin with? I guess I need to know assembler good enough. Well I learn something in my university, but I took a rest for a year at the moment, so I haven't got in-depth knowledge.

I am confused, I don't even sure I write English correctly, help me please! ='(
  Find

Threads: 279
Thanks Received: 236
Thanks Given: 57
Status
Tissue-aware
You can go in the ''Resources and links'' section and download the different disassemblies (source code) of the game. There are comments in the code which makes it easier to navigate.
  • Bank C0 deals with event commands among other core elements.
  • Bank C1 is graphic oriented and deals with the combat window (from what I know).
  • Bank C2 deals mainly with the combat system (there you will find your damage calculation).
  • Bank C3 deals with the field menu and some mysterious ending game routines.
  • Bank C5 deals with the music.

There are other disassemblies such as bank 7E, D4 and EE.

If you want a good resource for opcodes (65816 instructions) here is a good link: http://www14.brinkster.com/assassin17/thegun.htm
Here is also a nice list with the hex values of the opcodes: http://www.defence-force.org/computing/o.../annexe_2/

You can also find online small tutorials about SNES assembly (65816) and even books (one is linked in Resources and Links section). Check also romhacking.net for documentation.
  Find

Status
None
I've got a question.
Where can I get information about tiles?